Page 1 of 1

Modify stage

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:15 pm
by seanc217
Hi all I am trying to take an input which is defined as decimal and convert it to a string then take a substring of it.

I was trying to do this using the modify stage. I can get the substring to work, but with warnings about not converting it as such:

Implicit conversion from source type "decimal[9,0]"to result type "string"

So I was trying to convert it first and then pass it to the substring function in one specification. Is this possible? or do I need to use a transformer to do this?

Thanks

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:44 pm
by ray.wurlod
What function are you using in the Modify stage specification? Data type conversion is not necessarily automatic.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:06 am
by richdhan
Hi Seanc,

You cannot have 2 orchestrate functions in a single specification. You probably have to use the Transformer in this case.

HTH
--Rich

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 6:06 am
by ray.wurlod
Indeed, a single Transformer stage is likely to be more efficient than two consecutive Modify stages.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 6:42 am
by clshore
If you are trying to extract some of the digits, why not use arithmetic operations instead?
Conversion from a number to a string is usually less efficient than pure arithmetic processing.

Carter