Page 1 of 1

Error : Illegal instruction

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:34 am
by ThilSe
Hi,

I have a job that reads data from a table and updates one table, dataset.

I get the folowing error on Validating it
Contents of phantom output file =>
RT_SC367/OshExecuter.sh[20]: 3874844 Illegal instruction
Parallel job reports failure (code 132)
Do any one have ideas on this?

Thanks/Regards
Senthil

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:34 pm
by ray.wurlod
You can take a look at the RT_SC367/OshExecuter.sh script and see what is happening that might raise a SIGILL signal. Otherwise report it to your support provider. Let us know the outcome.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:57 pm
by ThilSe
ray.wurlod wrote:You can take a look at the RT_SC367/OshExecuter.sh script
Ray,

I don't know where to know look for that script.
Can you pls guid me ?

Thanks
Senthil

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:55 pm
by rasi
Senthil

These files are created under Datastage Project folder in your OS.
(ie ..//Ascential/DataStage/Projects/ProjectName/RT_SC367/OshExecuter.sh )

Thanks

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:29 pm
by ThilSe
Rasi,

I could see the file there. Thanks

But the error was diffferent. I was using a filter stage to seperate the records to output a db2 and dataset. there was using "col1>col2-1". So got this error.

Thanks
Senthil

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:13 pm
by rasi
Senthil
using "col1>col2-1".
What is your where clause in filter stage. What is the datatype for Col1 and Col2?

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:13 am
by ThilSe
rasi wrote:Senthil
using "col1>col2-1".
What is your where clause in filter stage. What is the datatype for Col1 and Col2?

The previous where clause was "CUR_DLVR_CT > MAX_DLVR_CT-1"
Where CUR_DLVR_CT, MAX_DLVR_CT are small integers.

Now i get MAX_DLVR_CT-1 from the database and use "CUR_DLVR_CT > MAX_DLVR_CT_NEW" in where clause

It seems we cannot give arithmetic expressions in where clause.

Thanks
Senthil

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:21 am
by rasi
Senthil

In developer guide it says

"The Where property supports standard SQL expressions, except when comparing strings."

There should be something else which makes it not to work....

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:30 am
by ThilSe
The expression i gave initially is CUR_DLVR_CT > MAX_DLVR_CT-1

So datastage might first calculate "CUR_DLVR_CT > MAX_DLVR_CT" which evaluates to false and then try to subtract 1 from false. This might be a reason for error.

I got parsing error when i enclosed the contraints within brackets like "CUR_DLVR_CT > (MAX_DLVR_CT-1)".

Thanks
Senthil