most frequently used stages?

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

mctny
Charter Member
Charter Member

most frequently used stages?

Post by mctny »

Helloo guys,

I am very new to DS EE and I am trying to learn it just by reading now, I was wondering which stages do you use most in DS EE. so that I can study these stages. And also any suggestion for learning DS EE will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Cetin
Thanks,
Chad

Post by ray.wurlod »

Welcome aboard. :D

You did not state whether you are coming from a server edition background or are entirely new to DataStage EE.

I doubt that you will get much consensus.

DataStage EE has many more stage types than server, because it follows a philosophy of one stage, one task (unlike the Transformer stage in server jobs, which performs a multitude of tasks).

People will choose the stage types that connect to whatever data sources they have - be it DB2, Oracle, SQL Server or others. Enterprise stages are to be preferred in general, because they innately support parallelism (though not in all circumstances).

You choose the appropriate Processing stage for the task at hand. Some advise to avoid Transformer stages (only because they have to generate C++ code that has to be compiled and linked back into the job), but sometimes you just have to use it.

Differentiate between Lookup, Join, Merge and Funnel, all of which combine data horizontally, but have subtle differences. Choose the one that does exactly what you require.

Similarly, if splitting (uncombining) data, maybe the Switch stage, maybe the Filter stage, maybe the Copy stage is sufficient.

Summarizing data is possibly the only unambiguous choice (Aggregator), though it is possible to summarize using a Transformer stage with stage variables.