Page 1 of 1

How to make the DataStage jobs Read only.

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:09 pm
by vinay_renu2001
Hello Guys

Could any one explain me about how to make a DataStage jobs Read only?

Thanks in Advance
Viny

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:24 pm
by kumar_s
Hi Viny,
Sevaral option available.
You can change your whole project as Protected using administrator. By making this, only autorised user can access and modify the jobs.
Or while you export using version control you can make your jobs as read only.
Or at you risk you can change the UV files directly.

Code: Select all

UPDATE DS_JOBOBJECTS SET READONLY = 'RO' NAME LIKE 'job name'

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:50 pm
by ray.wurlod
Three problems with that solution.
1. There's no WHERE in the SQL statement (its location should be obvious).
2. There's no column called NAME in the DS_JOBOBJECTS table.
3. It's more appropriate to change the setting on the DS_JOBS table, which does have a NAME column.

Code: Select all

UPDATE DS_JOBS SET READONLY = 'RO' WHERE NAME = '<<JobName>>';
Beware that DataStage SQL is case-sensitive.

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 4:23 pm
by kumar_s
ray.wurlod wrote:Three problems with that solution.
2. There's no column called NAME in the DS_JOBOBJECTS table.
3. It's more appropriate to change the setting on the DS_JOBS table, which does have a NAME column.

Code: Select all

UPDATE DS_JOBS SET READONLY = 'RO' WHERE NAME = '<<JobName>>';
Beware that DataStage SQL is case-sensitive.
But actually it does. :shock:
Though it wont show you while you do a Select * from .....
It will show you if you perform LSIT DICT...
And UPDATE DS_JOBOBJECTS also works.

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:31 am
by pratyusha
Somehow for me UPDATE DS_JOBS..... does not make the job RO or NRO. I tried UPDATE DS_JOBOBJECTS and it works perfect!!

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:45 am
by nagarjuna
Take the export of the datastage job and within dsx file replace readonly parameter value from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0.

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:58 am
by Sreenivasulu
Hi All,

How do we get access the the list of tables in UV and its SQL syntax.
Went throught the documentation in the installation directory but do not have this info

Regards
Sreeni

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:28 pm
by ray.wurlod
This information is not published anywhere.

Except on DSXchange, of course. But you will need to search.

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:51 pm
by mandyli
Hi

Even though you will do all the steps here. Still other able to run the job.



Thanks
Man

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:31 am
by chulett
Right... 'read only' means they can't be modified but they can still be run. And if you want to discuss that, please start a new post.