Sequential File to Oracle Stage slow load issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

jatayl
Premium Member
Premium Member

Sequential File to Oracle Stage slow load issue

Post by jatayl »

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum, but I've been working with DataStage for over 3 years. Now, to my issue. We've been running in production for 2.5 years, with very few "issues" that we couldn't solve. Well, I've finally come across one. I have a process flow that reads in a sequential file to an oracle stage. It's just a straight Oracle table load. DataStage is installed on one server, and Oracle in on the other server.

Over the last month, we've had very slow loading times. I've decided to take this on by running a few tests. I've headed off 5 records in my test file to load. Unfortunately, the load takes about 5 to 7 minutes to run. I initially thought it was an Oracle issue, but I've worked with my fellow DBA trying to debug the problem. We wrote a sqlloader script that runs on the same server as DataStage is on, with results that were like milliseconds to load the records. How come DataStage is taking so long to load? Is it doing some kind of testing on the table before it actually initializes sqlloader? It just seems to be hanging in the log at the OSH Dump step. Help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jason
ArndW
Participant

Post by ArndW »

Hello Jason,

have you tried using the "upsert" method in your Oracle as a test to see if that is also running slower than expected?