Page 1 of 1

Parameterize the shell script path in Execute command stage

Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:07 pm
by kumar
In the Execute command stage i given command line as "sh /data/customer/Personal/fine.sh" this is hard coded.
We tried parametterzing the Execute command path and the name but datastage doesn't allow us to parameterize the shellscript path.The script to run should be soft-coded.so please tell me how to make the parameterize the shell script path?.and also is any other stage used to parameterize the shell script

Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:47 pm
by ray.wurlod
Try just putting sh (or /bin/sh) in as the hard coded part.

On the parameters line, add a job parameter reference to the pathname of your script.

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:18 am
by thebird
Varun,

I believe you should be able to do this, the way Ray has mentioned.

To your next question, there is no particular stage just for parameterization. It is for this purpose (pass parameters) that the Parameters box is given in the execute command stage, so that you can set the parameter names here.

Regards,

The Bird.

Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 6:29 am
by kumar_s
Hi,

If the path is going to be changed less, you have another option.
Create a environmental varible and use it in the execute command.

Code: Select all

$PATH/shell.sh
-Kumar