Page 1 of 1

PX Configuration

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:43 pm
by venkat
Hi,
We had recently configured the PX on the Unix Server.
As of now performance is very slow and the sysadmin said only one node is utilized though the server is running on 2 CPUs on the same server.

Here is the configuration file.

{
node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

{
node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

Required help in setting up the server so that the two nodes are utilized in the job execution.

Thanks,
Venkat

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:48 pm
by ray.wurlod
Have you set all operation to sequential mode? It would be very difficult for your sys admin to determine otherwise, because your node definitions are identical. You can only determine whether two nodes are used under such a configuration from your logs, or by using the data set management tool or viewing a File Set control file.

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:02 pm
by vmcburney
Monitoring of CPU usage, RAM usage and I/O bottlenecks will give you a more complete picture of why your performance is slow. I would prefer to see each node using resource and scratch space in different locations to make it easier to monitor and improve.

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:09 pm
by trammohan
Define 2 logical nodes in /etc/hosts file and use those in your configuration file

{
node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14_new"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

{
node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14_new1"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:00 am
by ashwin2912
trammohan,

Will that make any difference? I dont think so... :?

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:05 am
by trammohan
resource allocation will be doubled ..( scrach disk, resource disks ) . in our environment we found lot of difference..

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:52 pm
by kprama
I think you have the extra braces which are not usually needed. Check to see if that makes any difference.

{

node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}

node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}

}