PX Configuration

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
venkat
Participant
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:35 pm

PX Configuration

Post by venkat »

Hi,
We had recently configured the PX on the Unix Server.
As of now performance is very slow and the sysadmin said only one node is utilized though the server is running on 2 CPUs on the same server.

Here is the configuration file.

{
node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

{
node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

Required help in setting up the server so that the two nodes are utilized in the job execution.

Thanks,
Venkat
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Have you set all operation to sequential mode? It would be very difficult for your sys admin to determine otherwise, because your node definitions are identical. You can only determine whether two nodes are used under such a configuration from your logs, or by using the data set management tool or viewing a File Set control file.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

Monitoring of CPU usage, RAM usage and I/O bottlenecks will give you a more complete picture of why your performance is slow. I would prefer to see each node using resource and scratch space in different locations to make it easier to monitor and improve.
trammohan
Participant
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:47 pm

Post by trammohan »

Define 2 logical nodes in /etc/hosts file and use those in your configuration file

{
node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14_new"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

{
node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14_new1"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}
ashwin2912
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:22 pm
Location: India

Post by ashwin2912 »

trammohan,

Will that make any difference? I dont think so... :?
Ashwin
trammohan
Participant
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:47 pm

Post by trammohan »

resource allocation will be doubled ..( scrach disk, resource disks ) . in our environment we found lot of difference..
kprama
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 4:48 pm

Post by kprama »

I think you have the extra braces which are not usually needed. Check to see if that makes any difference.

{

node "node1"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}

node "node2"
{
fastname "wawdb14"
pools ""
resource disk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/var/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}

}
Post Reply