Oracle Connectivity

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
adarsh shrinagesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:59 am
Location: India

Oracle Connectivity

Post by adarsh shrinagesh »

We recently went thru with an upgrade of Datastage from 7.1r2 to 7.5.1 with any issues. Connectivity to DB2 is seamless.
We now have to connect to Oracle9.2.0.1.0 as well
We have been facing problems with trying to connect to oracle from datastage

We have searched the forum for "like issues" - however have not had much succes with the connectivity

We can however connect to oracle thru the command prompt using the dsadm user

While right clicking on the Table Definition tree -> import Plug In Meta Definitions and then clicking on ORAOCI9 or ORAOCI we get the
"Unable to initialize plug-in:" error

same with actually using a ORACLE ENTERPRISE STAGE in a job

tnsping works fine too

Ours in a 64 bit AIX box with 64 bit Oracle installed

The following include the entries in the dsenv file

ORACLE_HOME=/home/oracle/OraHome1; export ORACLE_HOME
ORAHOME=/home/oracle/OraHome1; export ORAHOME
ORACLE_SID=trdm; export ORACLE_SID
PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin; export PATH
LIBPATH=$LIBPATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/lib:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib;export LIBPATH

and .profile entry for dsadm

.profile

LIBPATH=$LIBPATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib:/usr/java14/lib:$ORACLE_HOME/lib
export ORACLE_SID=trdm
ORACLE_HOME=/home/oracle/OraHome1; export ORACLE_HOME
PATH=$PATH:/home/oracle/OraHome1/bin

I dont see any issues with the oracle installation - i believe we're going wrong in the dsenv file configs

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
lstsaur
Participant
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:59 pm

Post by lstsaur »

Hi,
I have pretty much the same environment as yours. The only difference is that I use Oracle 32 bit client on the AIX machine. Good luck.
adarsh shrinagesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:59 am
Location: India

Post by adarsh shrinagesh »

Hi

We were able to solve the problem - after diggin in we realized that there some oracle modules that were not loaded correctly.

main_program: Error loading "orchoracle": Could not load "orchoracle": 0509-022 Cannot load module /home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/lib/liborchoracleaix3.so.

0509-150 Dependent module libclntsh.a(shr.o) could not be loaded.

0509-022 Cannot load module libclntsh.a(shr.o).

0509-026 System error: A file or directory in the path name does not exist.

0509-022 Cannot load module /home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/lib/liborchoracleaix3.so.

0509-150 Dependent module /home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/lib/liborchoracleaix3.so could not be loaded..


we went forward with a clean install and after correcting the dsenv file to point to the lib32 libraries and setting the PATH and LIBPATH environ variables thngs worked just fine
roblew
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: San Ramon

Post by roblew »

Thanks all. I had the same "Unable to initialize plug-in:" issue when installing our v8.0.1 environment today. the fix was to use the 32 bit libraries for Oracle. I did not have to re-install anything. The lib32 directory was already installed with the 64-bit Oracle driver.

We have Info Server 8.0.1 on RedHat EL AS4.0 (64-bit) with Oracle 10.2.0.4 64-bit client.

just changed from "lib" to "lib32":

Code: Select all

#ORACLE CONNECTIVITY
ORACLE_HOME=/oracle/v1020 ; export ORACLE_HOME
PATH=$PATH:$DSHOME:$DSHOME/bin:$ORACLE_HOME/bin; export PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32; export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
NLS_LANG=AMERICAN_AMERICA.UTF8; export NLS_LANG
and added the link to the required library file:

Code: Select all

ln -s $ORACLE_HOME/lib32/libclntsh.so.10.1 $ORACLE_HOME/lib32/libclntsh.so.9.0
xch2005
Participant
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:13 am
Location: India

Post by xch2005 »

Hi,

I am also facing Oracle (Enterprise stage) connectivity issues in DataStage 8.0.1.

OS is Redhat Linux 4 and Oracle client is installed in 32 bit and Oracle database is on 64 bit Solaris.

As mentioned I have also created the link

Code: Select all

ln -s $ORACLE_HOME/lib/libclntsh.so.10.1 $ORACLE_HOME/lib/libclntsh.so.9.0
If I select the read method a table, it works and able to view data, did not work if user defined query is given.

Really appericiate if you can give me some suggestions.

Thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Suggest you double-check your user-defined sql. To get any real help, you'd need to post the sql and the error you get when using it. Details, man!
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply