Page 1 of 1

Controller problem: Unhandled abort encountered in job

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:44 pm
by anupam
Hi,

I have a sequencer which triggers one Job, say 1st, if the 1st Job run successfully then runs the 2nd Job. If 1st Job fails then rerun 1st Job, lets call it 3rd Job. On completion of 3rd Job, 4th Job has to be triggered unconditionally.

|--------| |-----------|
|1stJob |-------Uncondtional-----| 2nd Job |
|--------| |-----------|
|
|
On Abort
|
|
|----------| |----------|
| 3rd Job |-----unconditional-----| 4th Job |
|----------| |----------|


This is the Sequencer and the Jobs (1st,2nd ..) are parallel Job.

This sequencer is giving warning

SS_Odh_Src_Stg_CustomerNodeHistory..JobControl (@RerunDtsStgCustomerNodeHistory): Controller problem: Unhandled abort encountered in job PJ_Odh_Dts_Stg_CustomerNodeHistory

And then Aborting

SS_Odh_Src_Stg_CustomerNodeHistory..JobControl (fatal error from @Coordinator): Sequence job will abort due to previous unrecoverable errors

The problem is 4th Job is not at all getting triggered though 1st Job has aborted and triggered 3rd Job

I am unable to understand the Problem.

Need help

Posted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:19 pm
by ray.wurlod
Does your design also include an Exception handler? If so, what happens when it fires?

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:24 pm
by dsxuserrio
Anupam
What are you doing in your 3rd job?? Are you doing some cleanup and trying to reset some jobs??
Thanks

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:43 pm
by anupam
No, I don't have any exception handler.

3rd Job and 1st Job are same. Only thing is, the client want rerun functionality on abort. So 1st Job if aborted is again reset and run as 3rd Job. 2nd and 4th Job are also same but multiinstance and 2nd and 4th job run with Different Instance Numbers (Invocation Id).

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:16 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
Can you check the current job status of job 4. If it is already aborted, maybe you cannot run it again (without reset).

Also can you confirm that it says 'Unconditional' and not 'run ok'.

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:20 am
by anupam
I have reset if required then run option choosen and the trigger is unconditional.

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:25 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
Try the following steps

1.) As job1 and job3 are same with different invocation id, copy job1 as job5 and replace it in your sequencer in place of job3.
2.) Attach an exception stage with a dsloginfo of job status
3.) Attach a routine to job3 as 'Otherwise' condition to display the jobstatus of job3.

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 4:08 am
by anupam
Job1 and Job3 are not with different Invocation Id.
Job1 and Job3 are same single Parallel Job. It is not a multi-instance Job. The same Job is executed twice in case of 1st run Failure.

Any way, will try what you have suggested and get back.