Page 1 of 1

CDC Stage - Error

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:42 am
by Maharaj
Hi

Iam using a CDC Stage to implement the SCD .

I have a two input datasets . Both are having almost 20 columns . But i specified the change values for only 2 columns based on the Key value . In the CDC stage i get the following error for all columsn other than the key colum and change value columns

CDC_Recrods: When checking operator: Defaulting "Column 2" in
transfer from "beforeRec" to "outputRec"
CDC_Recrods: When checking operator: Defaulting "Column 3" in
transfer from "beforeRec" to "outputRec"
CDC_Recrods: When checking operator: Defaulting "Column 4" in
transfer from "beforeRec" to "outputRec"
:
Please let me know how to correct this error

Thanks in advance :)

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 4:01 pm
by ray.wurlod
Are they errors (red icon) or warnings (yellow icon)?

Warnings can be issued to inform you that something unusual - not necessarily wrong - has occurred. In this case, since you did not specify change values, the CDC stage is reporting to you that it had to set defaults, which might be a vital piece of knowledge when diagnosing what's occurring in the job design.

They are warnings because the CDC stage does not usually set defaults; it "expects" that change values would be specified for all columns.

Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:32 am
by T42
Suggestion:

Have something like this:

Code: Select all

OLD_tfm------v
   |         | 
   v         v
  CDC----->JOIN---------->
   ^         ^
   |         |
NEW_TFM------^
Only pass the fields that you want to match as key and values to the CDC stage. Move all extra fields you NEED to the Join stage. Use CDC link as the master field, and join the other links.

You don't have to use a Transformer, but if you want to have a 'previous' data, and 'current' data, the transformer can handle that easily.

This will eliminate your warning messages which indicates that you are 'defaulting' values for passed fields where you have NO match for from the other link due to a failure to match. This is usually the fields you are passing from OLD.

Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:28 am
by Maharaj
Thanks a lot ray and T42. I have implemented the changes CDC + joiner to pick the other fields and later linking . Its perfectly working now .

Thanks
:lol: