ODBC stage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Bram
Participant

ODBC stage

Post by Bram »

Hi everyone,

I am new to Datastage. Please brief me where and why we use ODBC stage. As per my understanding, ODBC is used generally to connect to database, using the datasource. Its used only for RDBMS. whats the special in Datastage. Does it used in both editions.

Please teach me,

Thanks for your help,
Balaram
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

There are only two ways to talk to any database: using native database connectivity or third party. ODBC is third part driver connectivity. All ETL tools have some mechanism to either use native connectivity supplied by the database manufacturer or support use of an ODBC driver.

DataStage can use both methods for most databases. The ODBC stage is a generic connection solution requiring the appropriate driver. The OCI and new DRS rely on you have the native database connectivity installed and configured.

PX uses native connectivity, Server uses both for most databases.

For more information, you should really be reading the tutorial.
Kenneth Bland

Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

To add to what Ken said, ODBC (and, later, OLEDB) are standards devised by Microsoft. These are the only ways for getting at Microsoft-hosted data (for example Excel, Access, SQL Server).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
nandu
Participant

Do i need a DSN if am using oracle OCI stage

Post by nandu »

Hi ,
Can anybody help me :

do i need DSN to import table definations if am using OCI for ORacle Stage ?