CPU and APT file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
wuruima
Participant
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:15 pm

CPU and APT file

Post by wuruima »

The machine I am using, has 16 CPU
------
System configuration: lcpu=16 mem=27648MB ent=1.94
------

In the DS apt file, I set 4 nodes. like below text.
How could I make use of the 16 CPUs? Set 16 nodes? To make the job faster.

Code: Select all

{
        node "node1"
        {
                fastname "HKxxxxx"
                pools ""
                resource disk "/a/DataSets81" {pools ""}
                resource scratchdisk "/a/Scratch81" {pools ""}
        }
        node "node2"
        {
                fastname "HKxxxxx"
                pools ""
                resource disk "/a/DataSets81" {pools ""}
                resource scratchdisk "/a/Scratch81" {pools ""}
        }
        node "node3"
        {
                fastname "HKxxxxx"
                pools ""
                resource disk "/a/DataSets81" {pools ""}
                resource scratchdisk "/a/Scratch81" {pools ""}
        }
        node "node4"
        {
                fastname "HKxxxxx"
                pools ""
                resource disk "/a/DataSets81" {pools ""}
                resource scratchdisk "/a/Scratch81" {pools ""}
        }
}
wuruimao
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Node != CPU. The former is a logical concept, the latter a physical object. The O/S decides how many actual CPUs to use, not you and not DataStage.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Note also that lcpu = logical cpu (not physical).

Your server may have 1 or more physical processors, each with 1 or more (likely more) processor cores, each with 1 or more logical cpu. An IBM POWER8 processor for instance can be assigned 1, 2, 4, or 8 logical cpu per core via the SMT setting.

You allocation of cores is probably much less than 16. The ent=1.94 means that your LPAR is entitled to use 1.94 processor cores at any given time. It is likely you can exceed the entitlement number as well.

Are you on AIX? If so, run the lparstat -i command to see more details (min/max values, etc.).

All that aside, you can increase or decrease the number of logical nodes your jobs use while running to find one that is optimal (at least optimal for a given job...).
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Ack... noticed the "l" and meant to mention that as well, then got sidetracked. Thanks. :wink:

Rather than simply throw more nodes at it to 'make the job faster', my first pass would be to ensure the current job design was as optimal as possible for the task at hand. Once there, throw more workers at it - if needed.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

In terms of making your jobs run faster...

This is all of course assuming that your job has a CPU constraint rather than an IO constraint.

Your environment will also be affected by the quantity of concurrent jobs.

Have you determined what is causing your job slowness?

Higher degrees of parallelism does not always equate to a faster job.
Job design is always #1, job IO to/from your data sources is typically #2.

Have you determined that it's actually a CPU issue?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What do you mean by "faster"?

Do not believe anything expressed as rows/sec. Search DSXchange for reasons.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply