Webservices Client - Error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Webservices Client - Error

Post by Naren12345babu »

Hi,

I am trying to connect to Webservices through Webservices client stage. I have created a job and when I run it, I am getting below error :

Web_Services_Client_22,0: Fatal Error: Fatal: 0026`:`com.ascentialsoftware.wsclient.ServiceInvocationException: Service invocation exception: Response unexpected null object.
at com.ascentialsoftware.wsclient.OperationCall.invoke(OperationCall.java:380)
at com.ascentialsoftware.wsclient.WebService.callServiceInternal(WebService.java:1685)
at com.ascentialsoftware.wsclient.WebService.callService(WebService.java:1591)
at com.ascentialsoftware.wsclient.WebService.callService(WebService.java:1544)
at com.ascentialsoftware.wspack.Transformer.process(Transformer.java:105)
at com.ascentialsoftware.jds.StageFactory.runStage(StageFactory.java:544)
at com.ascentialsoftware.jds.StageFactory.runTarget(StageFactory.java:348)


Can any one help me to resolve this please.
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Can you invoke the same web service through some other client, such as SoapUI ?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

Hi Ray, yes I can. It is giving valid response when I invoke through SOAP UI
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:34 am

Post by eostic »

Hard to say...but one tip that may help is to put the invocation in a WSTranformer of a Server Job...and then when you run it, find the Tracing tab and check the WSTransformer Stage on the left side, and then all four boxes on the right side...

This will produce a voluminous trace log in the DS log..... at the "center" of that trace....look for two lines.....for the xml payload "request" and the xml payload "response".... open those...it may give you hints, or also make it clear if you aren't getting a response, or maybe even if it blows up before geting a request......

Ernie
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
<a href="https://dsrealtime.wordpress.com/2015/0 ... ere/">Open IGC is Here!</a>
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

hi,
where will i get tracing Tab, I am not able to find one in designer.
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

Okay . GOt it
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

Hi Ernie,

I did not get trace log in DS Log.
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

In webservices client, under proxy--> HTTP/HTTPS Proxy required

what should be the values of these options

Username
Password
HostName
Port Number
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

Username , password and hostname is fine but how to know the port number
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

One more thing I think is,

Datastagd is getting response, and respose is null. So, it could be something which webservices is not allowing datastGe
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Port number is the port number on which the web service is listening.

If you haven't got this right, then you can't get any response. Which you are interpreting as a null response.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

So in that case Hostname is Ipaddress of the server where webservices is hosted.
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:34 am

Post by eostic »

you mentioned that this is working in soapUI.......if so, then you should be very aware of every property here....the ports, the security, the host. Review the work you are doing in soapUI.......make sure you are intimate with every aspect of this service.....its request prooerties and their daratypes, header and security requiremwnts, and details of the response.......also try to find and speak with the author of the service.

.....and in the log exercise above, was it a server job that you created? if you didnt get any xml in that trace then maybe your request is never leaving datastage, regardless of the message you are seeing.

what does this web service do? what kind of argumentsnis it asking for?

The web services stages work well with simple scalar services that accept one row of input, or a primitive array, and return one row of output, or a primitive array.........anything outside of that may require the java integration stage.

Ernie
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
<a href="https://dsrealtime.wordpress.com/2015/0 ... ere/">Open IGC is Here!</a>
Naren12345babu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:40 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by Naren12345babu »

Hi Ernie,

In SOAP UI it is working fine. I created a SOAP Project and called this WSDL. then I got Methods. Under methods, I opened Request. Here I edited WSDL with some values and ran it, I got response.

Here I am using Web services Client stage for the first time, I was just rechecking whether all properties I have mentioned are correct.
Thanks
Naren Babu Ch
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:34 am

Post by eostic »

..and you did this in a Server Job, not a Parallel Job?
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
<a href="https://dsrealtime.wordpress.com/2015/0 ... ere/">Open IGC is Here!</a>
Post Reply