Separately Group Rows then Re-group them in Exact Order

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

KFajardo
Participant

Separately Group Rows then Re-group them in Exact Order

Post by KFajardo »

Hi guys, I am new to Datastage and I encountered a problem that's maybe a simple one.

I have a flat file source that looks like the one below:

Type 1|XXX|XXX|1234
Type 2|X|XXXXXXXXX|2015-02-01
Type 3|XXXX|XXXXXXX|2015-02-01
Type 4|XXXXXXX|XX
Type 6|X|XXX|X|XX
Type 1|XXX|XXX|567
Type 4|XXXXXXX|XX
Type 6|X|XXX|X|XX
Type 1|XXX|XXX|1234
Type 4|XXXXXXX|XX
Type 6|X|XXX|X|XX
Type 1|XXX|XXX|8911
Type 4|XXXXXXX|XX
Type 6|X|XXX|X|XX

* Type 1~6 Rows is refers to 1 instance/project.
BUT the only traceability of the project is only located at Type 1's
* So my problem is, if I separate all rows, I will not know from which project does each OTHER TYPEs belong to.

*I want to perform a transformation on Type 1 that's why I want to separate them. But there will be a bigger problem when doing so. That's why I'm thinking if there's a way that I can separate each project and group them so that the OTHER TYPES wo'nt get lost.

Hoping for the help.

Thank you,
-Kit
ShaneMuir
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by ShaneMuir »

Welcome.

If the data is as simple as below - you could use a stage variable to geneate a surrogate key value each time a new Type1 is received and then apply that to each other type until such time as the next Type1 is received. That surrogate key could be a number, or the "project" name itself.

So read the flat file in sequentially (to ensure that all the project information ends up on the same node) and then in a transformer stage set a stage variable to identify when the incoming record is a type1.