Page 1 of 1

data trunction when i am load into target as sql server

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:59 am
by kethya11
My Source have sql server datatype has number,target have sql server datatype has sql server.When i am loading soure to tartget,data will be truncated.
Ex:Source has 16.8 target loaded to 16.799992372605.
i am not use any convertion function.Please let me know have idea in this.

Re: data trunction when i am load into target as sql server

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:39 am
by chulett
kethya11 wrote:target have sql server datatype has sql server.
:?:

Anyway, perhaps the replies here can help, even if they are about Oracle.

Re: data trunction when i am load into target as sql server

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:25 pm
by SURA
Use the Sever job to load and compare the value.

Re: data trunction when i am load into target as sql server

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:31 pm
by ray.wurlod
kethya11 wrote:My Source have sql server datatype has number,target have sql server datatype has sql server.When i am loading soure to tartget,data will be truncated.
Ex:Source has 16.8 target loaded to 16.799992372605.
i am not use any convertion function.Please let me know have idea in this.
Can you please report the SQL data type, the precision and the scale for this column on both source and target?

"sql server" is not a data type.

Please advise also whether you imported the table definitions from source and from target before constructing this job?

Finally, please advice with which stage types you are connecting to the SQL Server database(s).

Re: data trunction when i am load into target as sql server

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:10 pm
by kethya11
Hi Ray,

Thank for your reply

i am wrongly posted datatype ,datatype has float .Its no precision and scale values.
After construct the job am imported the meta data.I a, I am using the odbc connecter stage.

Please help me.

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:00 am
by ray.wurlod
The float and dfloat data types are not guaranteed to store data to the final significant digits accurately. Research the IEEE specifications for storing these data types for the reasons why. I'd suggest you specify at least a scale value (ideally a precision value also), and perhaps treat the data type as decimal (though you may have to ignore/demote metadata mismatch warnings).

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:13 am
by SURA
To load the float value i use Server job and not PX. PX always give different value whereas server is not.

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:52 am
by kethya11
Thanks for giving reply to all

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:43 pm
by SURA
use Double data type.

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:42 pm
by ray.wurlod
Double is the same as dfloat.