Page 1 of 1

Lookup without a key column

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:43 am
by mac4rfree85
Hi Guys,

I am trying to convert a server job to a parallel job.

In the server job, a lookup is made with a dummy column against a job variable.

The output of the lookup is that it will add one column with the same value to all the rows.

Could you somebody tell me as how to achieve this in parallel..

Thanks
Magesh

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:29 am
by priyadarshikunal
either you can just pass that value as parameter to a column or create a record with row generator and use it to do lookup. You may need a transformer to set the values you require for that row if Defaulting in row generator cannot do that task.

If it doesn't look right, try explaining the situation, else its prone to different interpretation.

Re: Lookup without a key column

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:01 am
by nirdesh2
You can use column generator to generate the additional column for all the records and define the fixed value for that column

Re: Lookup without a key column

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:50 pm
by jerome_rajan
I agree. I don't see the need for a look-up here. A column generator will suffice

Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:08 am
by priyadarshikunal
well doesn't my first line states the same to add a column? using lookup was another solution matching with their job if he missed mentioning something, hence, wrote both.