Page 1 of 1

Oracle Error in view data

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:58 am
by prasson_ibm
Hi,

I have job with oracle connector stage,job is running fine but when i am doing view data it gives me below error message:-

The OCI function OCIStmtExecute return status -1. Error Code:3,115,Error Messgae: ORA-03115:unsupported network datatype or representation.


Can anyone faced the same issue.Please help me out to resolve this.

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 6:36 am
by prasson_ibm
Hi,

I tried to investigate more further and found that when query has functions like NVL it gives me error in viewing data.

For e.g.

When i paste below query in oracle connector,i am able to view the data.

Code: Select all

SELECT  /*+ PARALLEL(a,4) */
  ITEM,
  BUSINESS_UNIT_ID,
  DEPT,
  CLASS
FROM 
#Source_DB.SRC_SCHEMA#.#SRC_TABLE_NAME# a
But with below query i am getting error .

Code: Select all

SELECT  /*+ PARALLEL(a,4) */
  ITEM,
  BUSINESS_UNIT_ID,
  DEPT,
  CLASS,
  NVL(LOC,'-1111') AS LOC_NEW
FROM 
#Source_DB.SRC_SCHEMA#.#SRC_TABLE_NAME# a
I am unable to firgure out what is the issue.

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 6:51 am
by chulett
Do you have a column defined named LOC_NEW?

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:01 am
by asorrell
If your column name in DataStage is still defined as LOC you should have just used "AS LOC".

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:08 am
by chulett
Exactly. Was hoping that would have been inferred from the first answer.

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:43 am
by prasson_ibm
Hi,

I have changed the name as "LOC" and in metadata it is also "LOC" but still i am getting same error :cry:

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:45 am
by dsetlteam
You are replacing NULL with some value that is within quotes. Check if the LOC column is a varchar column , also check if the following works fine or not.

NVL(LOC,1) AS LOC
COALESCE(LOC,1) AS LOC
COALESCE(LOC,'-1111') AS LOC

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:20 am
by chulett
Have you asked your DBA? Or your support provider? I've only seen mention of that error when hitting an 8i instance and typically that over a dblink, I'm guessing neither of those are the case here so it could be a bug in the stage or perhaps in the Oracle client.