Oracle Error in view data

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Oracle Error in view data

Post by prasson_ibm »

Hi,

I have job with oracle connector stage,job is running fine but when i am doing view data it gives me below error message:-

The OCI function OCIStmtExecute return status -1. Error Code:3,115,Error Messgae: ORA-03115:unsupported network datatype or representation.


Can anyone faced the same issue.Please help me out to resolve this.
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by prasson_ibm »

Hi,

I tried to investigate more further and found that when query has functions like NVL it gives me error in viewing data.

For e.g.

When i paste below query in oracle connector,i am able to view the data.

Code: Select all

SELECT  /*+ PARALLEL(a,4) */
  ITEM,
  BUSINESS_UNIT_ID,
  DEPT,
  CLASS
FROM 
#Source_DB.SRC_SCHEMA#.#SRC_TABLE_NAME# a
But with below query i am getting error .

Code: Select all

SELECT  /*+ PARALLEL(a,4) */
  ITEM,
  BUSINESS_UNIT_ID,
  DEPT,
  CLASS,
  NVL(LOC,'-1111') AS LOC_NEW
FROM 
#Source_DB.SRC_SCHEMA#.#SRC_TABLE_NAME# a
I am unable to firgure out what is the issue.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Do you have a column defined named LOC_NEW?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
asorrell
Posts: 1707
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Colleyville, Texas

Post by asorrell »

If your column name in DataStage is still defined as LOC you should have just used "AS LOC".
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2020
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Exactly. Was hoping that would have been inferred from the first answer.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by prasson_ibm »

Hi,

I have changed the name as "LOC" and in metadata it is also "LOC" but still i am getting same error :cry:
dsetlteam
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:14 pm
Location: USA

Post by dsetlteam »

You are replacing NULL with some value that is within quotes. Check if the LOC column is a varchar column , also check if the following works fine or not.

NVL(LOC,1) AS LOC
COALESCE(LOC,1) AS LOC
COALESCE(LOC,'-1111') AS LOC
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Have you asked your DBA? Or your support provider? I've only seen mention of that error when hitting an 8i instance and typically that over a dblink, I'm guessing neither of those are the case here so it could be a bug in the stage or perhaps in the Oracle client.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply