Page 1 of 1

MQ stage Reject Link

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:40 am
by gowrishankar_h
Hi,

I have a senario like i need to write the record in MQ.
If Queue manager is down then the job should not abort.

I tried with below approach but no luck.

I have created reject link in the MQ stage and ticked the below checked box for the reject condition.
1)Connection failure
2)reject failure etc...

Writing the reject record into sequential stage.

But when the queue manager is down instead of record passing into the reject link...the job gets abort..

Any where am i missing something or any other working solution?.Thanks in Advance



Thanks,
Gowri Shankar H

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:32 pm
by ray.wurlod
If this is important you need to code checking whether the queue manager is down (probably an Execute Command activity in a sequence) before you attempt to use any queue managed by that queue manager.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:16 am
by gowrishankar_h
Thanks...But i want to know why reject link is not working even when reject condition set as below..Any other property setting am i missing here?
1)Connection failure
2)reject failure etc...

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 5:40 am
by eostic
I haven't tested any subtle failure scenarios in a long time, but I suspect that the types of failures that would reject are those that are rejected by the MQ Server itself....such as problems with the Channel, message content or size issues, "Queue is full", etc. If the MQ Server isn't up and running, then the Job fails long before it ever gets to a reject. Check the status of MQ in a script. In most scenarios, it is good that the Job aborts if MQ isn't running.

Ernie

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 6:26 am
by gowrishankar_h
Thanks...but dono whats is the use option in constraints for connection failure...I assumed its for MQ server connection failed..In that case it should work..

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:57 pm
by ray.wurlod
Read Ernie's post again. The reject link handles conditions that can occur after a successful connection has been made, such as "queue full".

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:33 pm
by eostic
Yeah. Could be that, but ultimately, who knows what error that catches or its original intent. Bottom line, I want the Job to abort if the MQ Server is down, and then control the reaction to that via the Job sequencer, restarts, etc. What is your requirement?

Ernie