Page 1 of 1

Converting Empty Strings to Blank - Server to Parallel Eds

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:45 am
by iq_etl
In 8.7 Server Edition we have created a routine that will evaluate strings for blanks, nulls, or empty and return blank. This routine works fine in 8.7, but now working in 9.1 Parallel Edition I'm wondering if there is a function or pre-existing routine that does this?

Is there a way to access this server routine (in BASIC)? Do I need to re-write the routine as a parallel routine (in C)? More importantly, is there functionality built into the Parallel Edition that I'm missing? I'm not seeing any, but want to be sure.

Thanks!

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:10 pm
by ray.wurlod
There are lots of solutions but, without knowing your exact requirement/logic, we cannot comment on whether an out-of-the-box solution exists.

You can call BASIC routines from the BASIC Transformer stage in parallel jobs.

You can use server jobs.

You can rewrite the logic into a parallel routine.

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:45 am
by iq_etl
Good Morning, Ray.

Thanks for the response.

Essentially, we want to evaluate strings and provide blank when there is no data. Usually Nulls are desired, but we have several clients that prefer blank which is why we wrote this routine.

We could do it with a series of statements in the transformer, but obviously it's easier for maintenance in one routine.

Our team is hoping to take advantage of being in the parallel edition. Would we lose any efficiency/processing by using a BASIC Transformer stage in our parallel jobs? Would it make more sense to write a parallel routine (which needs to be in C, correct?)

Thanks!

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:20 am
by chulett
iq_etl wrote:Would we lose any efficiency/processing by using a BASIC Transformer stage in our parallel jobs? Would it make more sense to write a parallel routine (which needs to be in C, correct?)
Yes. Yes. Yes++. :wink:

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:48 pm
by rameshrr3
Although a Parallel routine written in C will generally work just fine , it is recommended that you write routines in CPlusPlus(C++) and compile them as such.