How to capture no of rows processed on link in parallel job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

How to capture no of rows processed on link in parallel job

Post by VineelPrem »

Hello all,
I had trouble calculating no of rows processed on a link in a parallel job . i searched the forum and could not find any solution.I see that that there is a DSGetLinkInfo() function in server job . Is there any function for parallel jobs ??
Thanks in advance for your response



Regards
Prem
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by prasson_ibm »

Hi,
You can write a server routine and you can call that routine in parallel jobs in two ways:-

1. Call routine in job sequence and pass rowcount as a job parameter.
2.In parallel job you can call basic transformer stage and call the routine.

Its very simple routine,just you need to pass stage name and link name to that function.let me know in case you need routine handy.
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Thanks for the quick response Prasson . Did u mean routine or just a custom transform ? It would be great if you can help me out with that routine,
Thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Clarify something for us - you need to get a link row count and then do what with it? Knowing that would help get you appropriate advice.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by prasson_ibm »

Hi,
You need to write a server routine,I am replying from mobile so I can't write whole routine but function will look like thts:-

RowInputCount - DSGetLinkInfo(DSJ.ME,"stage name","link name",DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT)
ANS - RowInputCount

You can search any basic routine and frame it in that.
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Hi Chulett,
I have to insert the no of rows each DS job Inserts/update/Deletes to the target tables to another table which keeps track of all the DS job info
Thanks
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Thanks a lot Prasson . thats helps me
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Be aware that coding it with DSJ.ME as the job handle means it can only check the links in the job that called it. And that means you'd need to call this routine 'after job' in every job that you wanted to monitor. I prefer a 'post' process, something that you can run after your loads are complete that interogates all of the jobs from the run and gathers up all of the statistics needed at one time. That separation means your loads are not interrupted or hung up by a failure to collect the job statistics.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

You are wasting your time, IBM have built this functionality into Information Server 8.7 and 9.1 via the Operations Console. All job and link row counts are loaded into the operations console and can be queried like normal database tables - you can point Cognos or whatever BI tool you use at it and report and, aggregate on row counts.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I guess they are wasting their time if in fact they are on the releases you mention. So... Prem?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vamsi.4a6
Participant
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:06 am
Contact:

Post by vamsi.4a6 »

You can also try below command on unix prompt


dsjob -linkinfo <project> <job> <stage> <link>
prasson_ibm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by prasson_ibm »

vmcburney wrote:You are wasting your time, IBM have built this functionality into Information Server 8.7 and 9.1 via the Operations Console. All job and link row counts are loaded into the operations console and can be queried like normal database tables - you can point Cognos or whatever BI tool you use at it and report and, aggregate on row counts.
Hi,

This seems to be interesting information.I just loggedin to Operation Console and tried to check the rowcount,but there i saw rows/second enformation is logged.
It will be very helpful if you can let us know which table we need to query to get linkrowcount of particular job..?
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Thanks for the info vcmburney.Thats interesting . But we are still on 8.5 .
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Hi chulett we are still on 8.5 . I am using the dsjob utility to capture information and parse it .
VineelPrem
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Houston

Post by VineelPrem »

Thanks Vamshi
vamsi.4a6 wrote:You can also try below command on unix prompt


dsjob -linkinfo <project> <job> <stage> <link>
Post Reply