Page 1 of 1

Oracle connector Update statement

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:19 pm
by vamsi.4a6
Hi all,

Oracle_Con_item_dwp_t,2: The connector generated the following RETURNING statement at runtime:

Code: Select all

UPDATE EDW.ITEM_DWP_T SET 
  SEL_METHOD=:SEL_METHOD,BASED_ON=:BASED_ON,DATE_PERSP=:DATE_PERSP,
  DWP_TYPE=:DWP_TYPE,DWP_STATUS=:DWP_STATUS,BU_CODE_SUP=:BU_CODE_SUP,
  BU_TYPE_SUP=:BU_TYPE_SUP,SC_ITEM_VOL_NET=:SC_ITEM_VOL_NET,
  DQ_IND=:DQ_IND,RUN_ID=:RUN_ID,UPD_DATE=:UPD_DATE 
WHERE ITEM_NO=:ITEM_NO AND ITEM_TYPE=:ITEM_TYPE 
   AND FROM_DATE=:FROM_DATE AND TO_DATE=:TO_DATE 
   AND SOURCE_FLAG=:SOURCE_FLAG 
RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :16.
I used user generated update then Insert in oracle connector stage.Job is working fine and in director the update statement is shown as above.Could any explain what is meant by RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :16 and i did not mention that one in the query in oracle connector stage? I know what is meant by ROWID in oracle

Re: oracle connectoe Update statement

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:24 am
by SURA
Hi Vamsi

Hope this link will help you.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg1JR39863

Thanks
DS User

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:32 am
by chulett
It won't. That's about a bug in the SQL generation. There's no bug here, they are just seeking... enlightenment. :wink:

It is returning the count of records updated (I assume) to drive the switch to an insert when that count is zero.

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:44 am
by thupallireddy
hi

Did this issue get resolved? I am also facing same issue. Can anyone please suggest on this rowid error while updating.

Im getting same error as RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :19.

Thanks in advance,
Reddy.

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:54 am
by priyadarshikunal
Actual post doesn't have any error mentioned in it? what error you are getting?

Once again you should post a new topic if you are not able to find the solution after searching.

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 12:59 pm
by yugee
This statement doesn't give any error, it is added by the datastage to give you the number of rows it updated. If you see the log, you will have a statement - Number of rows updated on the current node: x. the number of rows are coming from this variable.

The original poster wanted the clarification and there was no error mentioned.

Please post the exact error you are getting.

Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:10 am
by thupallireddy
This is the error we get when update statement is using more than two columns in where condition and data is not matching for columns(used in where condition). I have overcome this error now and job is running fine.