Oracle connector Update statement

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
vamsi.4a6
Participant
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:06 am
Contact:

Oracle connector Update statement

Post by vamsi.4a6 »

Hi all,

Oracle_Con_item_dwp_t,2: The connector generated the following RETURNING statement at runtime:

Code: Select all

UPDATE EDW.ITEM_DWP_T SET 
  SEL_METHOD=:SEL_METHOD,BASED_ON=:BASED_ON,DATE_PERSP=:DATE_PERSP,
  DWP_TYPE=:DWP_TYPE,DWP_STATUS=:DWP_STATUS,BU_CODE_SUP=:BU_CODE_SUP,
  BU_TYPE_SUP=:BU_TYPE_SUP,SC_ITEM_VOL_NET=:SC_ITEM_VOL_NET,
  DQ_IND=:DQ_IND,RUN_ID=:RUN_ID,UPD_DATE=:UPD_DATE 
WHERE ITEM_NO=:ITEM_NO AND ITEM_TYPE=:ITEM_TYPE 
   AND FROM_DATE=:FROM_DATE AND TO_DATE=:TO_DATE 
   AND SOURCE_FLAG=:SOURCE_FLAG 
RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :16.
I used user generated update then Insert in oracle connector stage.Job is working fine and in director the update statement is shown as above.Could any explain what is meant by RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :16 and i did not mention that one in the query in oracle connector stage? I know what is meant by ROWID in oracle
SURA
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:16 am
Location: Sydney

Re: oracle connectoe Update statement

Post by SURA »

Hi Vamsi

Hope this link will help you.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg1JR39863

Thanks
DS User
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

It won't. That's about a bug in the SQL generation. There's no bug here, they are just seeking... enlightenment. :wink:

It is returning the count of records updated (I assume) to drive the switch to an insert when that count is zero.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
thupallireddy
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:27 am
Location: Benagaluru

Post by thupallireddy »

hi

Did this issue get resolved? I am also facing same issue. Can anyone please suggest on this rowid error while updating.

Im getting same error as RETURNING COUNT(ROWID) INTO :19.

Thanks in advance,
Reddy.
priyadarshikunal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:44 am
Location: Troy, MI

Post by priyadarshikunal »

Actual post doesn't have any error mentioned in it? what error you are getting?

Once again you should post a new topic if you are not able to find the solution after searching.
Priyadarshi Kunal

Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. :wink:
yugee
Participant
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:54 pm

Post by yugee »

This statement doesn't give any error, it is added by the datastage to give you the number of rows it updated. If you see the log, you will have a statement - Number of rows updated on the current node: x. the number of rows are coming from this variable.

The original poster wanted the clarification and there was no error mentioned.

Please post the exact error you are getting.
thupallireddy
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:27 am
Location: Benagaluru

Post by thupallireddy »

This is the error we get when update statement is using more than two columns in where condition and data is not matching for columns(used in where condition). I have overcome this error now and job is running fine.
Post Reply