Empty line as constraint in transformer

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Empty line as constraint in transformer

Post by chetan.c »

Hi,

I have data like this.
Col1
a
b
c
"Empty line"
d
e
f

My output should be
abc
def

I'm using stage variables to concatenate the rows.
But how to mention the constraint in Transformer as blank line?

I tried trim(col1)='' but it is not working.

Thanks
Chetan
HendrikB
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:01 am

Post by HendrikB »

Hi,

just an idea: maybe could you identify an empty line by its length using length function len().

And what does empty line mean?
Number of Blanks? NULL?
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by chetan.c »

Hi,

I tried len() but its not working either.
Empty line is just a blank line not any number of spaces or blanks.
Like
a

b

Thanks.
HendrikB
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:01 am

Post by HendrikB »

Ok,
what source are you talking about? DB, Flat file?
What is the datatype of your input column? CHAR, VARCHAR?
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by chetan.c »

Sorry actually len() works but my logic in stage variables was wrong, fixed it thanks.
pandeesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:15 am
Location: CHENNAI, TAMIL NADU

Post by pandeesh »

But, i prefer these things in doing filter option of sequential stage..
pandeeswaran
Post Reply