Page 1 of 1

Pass the value to Parameter set from script

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:54 pm
by mandyli
Hi

I would like to pass the one paramater value to Paramater Set from command line.

I hope using -ds-job command we can pass -param for normal parameter,
But I need to pass only one value to Parameter set.

Thanks
Man

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:11 pm
by ray.wurlod
Use "dot notation".

Code: Select all

-param parametersetname.parametername=value

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:59 am
by mandyli
Thanks Ray.

When I test following command but still I am getting error?

psValue="-param project_param_set.data_path=/home/aaa/dir/"

$DSHOME/bin/dsjob -run -mode NORMAL -param $psValue Test_project seq_test

Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
[-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
[-paramfile <filename>]
[-param <name>=<value>]
[-warn <n>]
[-rows <n>]
[-wait]
[-opmetadata <TRUE | FALSE>]
[-disableprjhandler]
[-disablejobhandler]
[-jobstatus]
[-userstatus]
[-local]
[-useid]
<project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am
by chulett
Too many "-param"s in there.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:43 pm
by ray.wurlod
What Craig is intimating is that you have a -param in the dsjob command line and another in the value of the psValue shell variable. The dsjob command objects to what becomes an empty -param argument. Think about what the expanded command would look like.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:23 pm
by mandyli
Thanks Ray & Craig,

That is my mistake.

psValue="project_param_set.data_path=/home/aaa/dir/"

$DSHOME/bin/dsjob -run -mode NORMAL -param $psValue Test_project seq_test

After I modified but still I am getting same error.

Error -3 getting information for parameter 'project_param_set.data_path'

Status code = -3 DSJE_BADPARAM

I am not sure what i missed here.

Thanks
Man

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:36 pm
by chulett
Verify for us that your job's parameter name exactly matches what you are using on the command line - including case.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:00 pm
by ray.wurlod
This is a different error than the syntax error you had before. DSJE_BADPARAM means one of three things:
  • there is no parameter set called project_param_set in the project

    there is no parameter called data_path in the parameter set

    the parameter set has not been loaded into the job design
Please verify all these aspects, noting too that parameter set names and parameter names are case sensitive.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:59 pm
by DIVIHN
Thanks Ray & Craig.