Page 1 of 1

Can we read Metadata Dynamically...

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:11 am
by krishna14
1) i have a case where i have to read the metadata dynamically ..Is it Possible in DS ..???

2) I have a scenario where 100 records that are coming into Transformer and output of it is meeting my selection cretreia and getting out 75 records but i want to pick 25 records out of those 75 out randomly .how can i achieve the process ...????Please help me with the issue.

Thanks for all your inputs and I appreciate your help.....

Re: Can we read Metadata Dynamically...

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:49 pm
by SURA
1. Use RCP.

2. Are you going to have only 100 records at all time?

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:05 pm
by ray.wurlod
If these columns are coming from a database, generate the SELECT statement dynamically by reading a sample of column names for that table from the system table (the name of which will be something like SYSCOLUMNS or ALL_COLUMNS).

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:34 am
by krishna14
Sura ...Thanks For the info .but RCP is used when the Metadata is loded at least in on Source stage ...but my req: is with loading the Metadata in Source Stage Can we call the Metadata in to the source Dynamically and to propagate to next stage ...is it possible in DS ..????

2) Number of records will be varying ,but i need 25 records loded to my target ...

Ray....can u please eloborate ,and more over it is not from Database we r reading from Files ....

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:10 pm
by ray.wurlod
No. My response was predicated on use of a database. There are no "system tables" for text files. If you do have these (for example schema files) you could adopt a similar approach.