Page 1 of 2

Error when trying to read from Oracle Enterprise Stage

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:12 pm
by jweir
Hello,

I am getting errors when trying to read from an Oracle Enterprise Stage. In the Output Propeties tab, I have to parameterize the table schema, the user and password, and the remote server. However, when I do paramterize these, I get errors saying it could not identify the schema, invalid logon, etc.

It seems to not be recognizing the parameters, as if there were no value in the parameter.

When I hardcode everything, it works. But even when I try to parameterize one of the values, it fails. Any suggestions?

Also, I have tried putting single quotes around the User parameter, and everything else hardcoded, and it still failed.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:37 pm
by vinothkumar
Is this appearing to you alone or everyone in your team

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:44 pm
by jweir
Everyone on my team has same problem.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:46 pm
by jweir
I might mention that these parameters are environment variables, so they have values of $PROJDEF in the parameter set.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:56 pm
by vinothkumar
If they are mentioned as Environment variables the values are substituted at run time only. If you try to view data in designer then it will show error

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:03 pm
by jweir
I am not trying to view data in designer.

When I run the job, it aborts. And the director gives me the errors about not a valid table name, unable to logon, etc.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:06 pm
by ray.wurlod
Please post the exact error message. If it has sharp signs (parameter references) in it, then the parameters are not being resolved correctly. Check that the references are correctly spelled and cased.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:13 pm
by jweir
When I put all the parameters in the stage, this is the error I recieve:
scRetrieveAuditFields.ETL_JOBID_LIST: Incorrect dboption list; it failed on Expected value for property "user", got: ",", line 1
Expected value for property "password", got: "}", line 1.
Also, this Oraclt stage is inside a shared container, but I wouldn't think that is would affect it. But I could be wrong.

Also, I have checked with the parameter values, and they are correct.

As for the sharp signs, they are present when I enter them at the output properties tab.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:38 pm
by ray.wurlod
Read the error message carefully - the problem reported there relates to the values being passed for user and password parts of the connection string.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:17 pm
by jweir
scRetrieveAuditFields.ETL_JOBID_LIST: Incorrect dboption list; it failed on Expected value for property "user", got: ",", line 1
Expected value for property "password", got: "}", line 1.
The error message is saying that there are no values for user and password:
"user", got: ","
"password", got: "}",
That is saying the parameters are not passing anything, because the DB Options are:
{user=#USER_PARAMETER#,password=#PASSWORD_PARAM#}
Like I said, when I hardcoded the same values I have in the environment variables, it works. But when I parameterize one value, it fails.

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:24 pm
by ray.wurlod
I though you said these are environment variables. Where are the "$" characters?

Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:45 am
by jweir
That was just an example. Here is actual:

Code: Select all

{user=#GetPROJDEFValues.$stg_ETLJOB_ora_USER#,password=#GetPROJDEFValues.$stg_ETLJOB_ora_PASS#}

Error when trying to read from Oracle Enterpise Stage

Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:20 am
by ajay.vaidyanathan
Hi,
In your Oracle source stage are you giving the parameter values which are defined in the Parameter section?

{user=#GetPROJDEFValues.$stg_ETLJOB_ora_USER#,password=#GetPROJDEFValues.$stg_ETLJOB_ora_PASS#}

"GetPROJDEFValues.$stg_ETLJOB_ora_USER" is the correct parameter value or "$stg_ETLJOB_ora_USER" is the actual parameter value?

Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:38 am
by jweir
Hello,

It was determined that there was something wrong the with shared container. I have it working now. We were missing some of the parameters in the shared container that were being used in the job, but not in the container itself. Does that matter that all the parameters that are being used in the job should be added to the container, even if they aren't being used?

Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:28 am
by parimi123
You need to pass the environment variables like this
e.g. #$USER_ID#