Page 1 of 1

null_field length (0) must match field's fixed width (14)

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:48 am
by reddy82
Hi All,

I am getting this error:

Ci_FileSchema: At field "DT_CREA": "null_field" length (0) must match field's fixed width (14)

Ci_FileSchema is an import stage.In our project we are enabled the run time coloumn propagation,Here is not showing any metadata only single coloumn is used like 'Data'.It Passed data for all the coloumn values


The datatype is Timestamp. What value do I give for Null Field Value?

Thanks in advance.
Sridhar

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:30 am
by ArndW
In the definitions of your import stage (is this a "column import" stage?) you will have incorrectly set the null_field length to 0, which is not allowed in a fixed-width timestamp field. Since this is a strictly typed field, you will have to supply a legal timestamp string value as the default.

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:20 am
by swapnilverma
make any default timestamp value u wish for null in below formate

%yyyy-%mm-%dd %hh:%nn:%ss

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:44 am
by reddy82
In our job,enabled the RCP..Metadata is not showing...How to add the default timestamps in the null values

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:48 am
by ray.wurlod
Right click on the row in the Columns grid and choose Edit Row.

In the Nullable folder add "Null Field Value" from the Available properties to add. This is where you can set the null field value. It must be a valid timestamp, such as 9999-12-31 23:59:59

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:32 am
by reddy82
I have added the Null_filed_length = 14

Still we are getting the same error.Timesatmp format in our project is yyyy%mm%dd %hh:%nn"(length = 14)

your help is much appreciated


thanks,
Sridhar

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:34 am
by reddy82
I have added the null filed value = 123..
still getting the same error

Thanks,
Sridhar

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:36 am
by chulett
That is neither a timestamp nor 14 characters. :?

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:58 am
by swapnilverma
u should be knowing exact schema definition at source...

why dont you add default null value at the source it self ..

RCP should not be enabled if u require any change in schema definition..