Page 1 of 1

aborting a job

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:04 am
by agpt
How to set up a job to abort based on a particular value of a column?

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:41 am
by chulett
Why abort? Why not capture it and move on?

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:47 am
by agpt
chulett wrote:Why abort? Why not capture it and move on? ...
no abort only

say source has name column. as soon as name value = "xyz" , it should abort.

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:48 am
by agpt
is it doable using triggers?

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:23 pm
by ray.wurlod
I don't believe in causing jobs to abort. I feel it is far better to retain control over what is happening.

That said, there are several solutions, including limiting the number of rows on an output link from a Transformer stage that might handle this particular value, or conditionally calling a routine that invokes DSLogFatal() function.

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:52 pm
by chulett
And I prefer to capture them all and then conditionally abort the job if the error file is not empty and that is the requirement. That way all problems are known, not just the first one.

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:55 pm
by chulett
Database triggers? A 'before insert' trigger that raises an error when that value is seen could work, I suppose, depending on your warning level. Or you could just call DSLogFatal() in the job itself.

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:29 am
by agpt
chulett wrote:Database triggers? A 'before insert' trigger that raises an error when that value is seen could work, I suppose, depending on your warning level. Or you could just call DSLogFatal() in the job itself. ...
Thanks Craig!!!

Where can I find full documentation for all the functions like DsLogFatal or other DS routines, procedures ?

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:59 am
by ArndW
At Version 8 look into the "Programmer's Guide" to find those routines documented.

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:55 am
by chulett
Or the "online" help from the client tools. Switch to the Index tab, type "DS" and you'll be right there.

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:41 am
by agpt
ArndW wrote:At Version 8 look into the "Programmer's Guide" to find those routines documented. ...
Hi ,

Can you please tell me where would I get "Programmer's Guide"? I looked into online documentation available but didn't find it there.

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:47 am
by ArndW
Go into your Programs -> IBM Information Server -> Documentation and, from the list, choose your appropriate language for "Programmer's Guide" in the "Websphere DataStage" section.