aborting a job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

aborting a job

Post by agpt »

How to set up a job to abort based on a particular value of a column?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Why abort? Why not capture it and move on?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Post by agpt »

chulett wrote:Why abort? Why not capture it and move on? ...
no abort only

say source has name column. as soon as name value = "xyz" , it should abort.
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Post by agpt »

is it doable using triggers?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I don't believe in causing jobs to abort. I feel it is far better to retain control over what is happening.

That said, there are several solutions, including limiting the number of rows on an output link from a Transformer stage that might handle this particular value, or conditionally calling a routine that invokes DSLogFatal() function.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

And I prefer to capture them all and then conditionally abort the job if the error file is not empty and that is the requirement. That way all problems are known, not just the first one.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Database triggers? A 'before insert' trigger that raises an error when that value is seen could work, I suppose, depending on your warning level. Or you could just call DSLogFatal() in the job itself.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Post by agpt »

chulett wrote:Database triggers? A 'before insert' trigger that raises an error when that value is seen could work, I suppose, depending on your warning level. Or you could just call DSLogFatal() in the job itself. ...
Thanks Craig!!!

Where can I find full documentation for all the functions like DsLogFatal or other DS routines, procedures ?
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

At Version 8 look into the "Programmer's Guide" to find those routines documented.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Or the "online" help from the client tools. Switch to the Index tab, type "DS" and you'll be right there.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Post by agpt »

ArndW wrote:At Version 8 look into the "Programmer's Guide" to find those routines documented. ...
Hi ,

Can you please tell me where would I get "Programmer's Guide"? I looked into online documentation available but didn't find it there.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Go into your Programs -> IBM Information Server -> Documentation and, from the list, choose your appropriate language for "Programmer's Guide" in the "Websphere DataStage" section.
Post Reply