Page 1 of 1

Weird result:- sequencial file reading improper data

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:15 am
by meet_deb85
Hi All,

I have very simple dimension job whose source is sequencial file.Sequencial file has data like:-

"CUST_TYPE","E","Existing","N/A"
"CUST_TYPE","P","Prospect","N/A"
"CUST_TYPE","O","Others","N/A"
"CUST_TYPE","X","NOT AVAILABLE","N/A"

But in datastage env. it is skiping first line.

My setting in sequencial file is:-

First line as column name- False
Format:-

Delimiter:- comma
Final Del:- end
Quote:- double


Please help me to resove this issue


thanks

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:18 am
by kumar_s
Is target a Table?
If its a sequential file, check for the same "First like" setting in target file stage also.
Else check if you get any warning in Director log, saying for the record reject.

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:21 am
by meet_deb85
Hi

I want to add more on this:-

I m reading source file as a parameter like

PQE*MNI*.#PARAM1#.*.2010-06-10

In this case its reading only three records of type "CUST_TYPE"

But when i m hardcording the filename its reading all the records from the file.

Please suggest me what could be a reason??

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:21 am
by ArndW
Assuming you aren't getting runtime warnings, if you do a "View Data" in the designer, does the first line get show? If yes, then most likely you are dropping that line somewhere in your job.

Addition (I just saw your 2nd post after writing my response)
The likely reason is that you are reading a different file or files from that which you think you are reading. Are you actually using wildcard "*"s as the file name?

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:30 am
by ray.wurlod
Are you absolutely sure that "first line is column names" is false? For example, might you have changed it from "true" and not re-compiled?

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 3:00 am
by meet_deb85
When i copied that file to some other path,and i read this file using same file pattern,it is able to read all four records......

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 3:43 am
by kumar_s
So, did you check if there is any another file with similar file mask as specified in previous directory.
But being similar, should be added up to the existing file though.
If you put your file back to the earliar directory gives you only 3 record?

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:01 am
by meet_deb85
kumar_s wrote:So, did you check if there is any another file with similar file mask as specified in previous directory.
But being similar, should be added up to the existing file though.
If you put your file back to the earliar directory gives you only 3 record?
Yes...when i am putting file back to earlier directory...its giving 3 records only