Page 1 of 1

Limitation of the number of parameters

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:35 pm
by rohithmuthyala
Hi All,

I have a generic Sequence job to extract data which has 5 parameters:

1)Parameter File
2)Table Name
3)ColumnNames
4)Filter
5)Type

I'm trying to run this through dsjob -run command in Unix,

dsjob -run -jobstatus -param ${ParameterFile} -param ${TableName} -param ${ColumnNames} -param ${Filter} -param ${Type} ${ProjName} ${JobName}

It's giving an error message as below,

DSEngine/bin/dsjob: 0403-027 The parameter list is too long.
rc 4

Can anyone please help on this.

I checked and confirmed that the jobs are taking the same number of parameters as I've run the job directly from director.

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:42 pm
by anbu
Add set -vx before dsjob command and check the trace for anything wrong in the parameter values

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:44 pm
by anbu
Add set -vx before dsjob command and check the trace for anything wrong in the parameter values

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:05 pm
by vinothkumar
Have you ever run your jobs through command prompt earlier.

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:28 pm
by datskosaraju
vinothkumar wrote:Have you ever run your jobs through command prompt earlier.

ok, now what has this to do with his question?

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:41 pm
by chulett
I would wager it is complaining about the total length of your parameter values, rather than the number of them. So... how long are the values? You can certainly pass more than 5 parameters, btw.

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:10 pm
by ray.wurlod
What is the limit on the length of a command in your particular UNIX? Are you reaching this limit?

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:15 am
by rohithmuthyala
@Anbu: I've tried this
dsjob set -vx -run -jobstatus -param ${ParameterFile} -param ${TableName} -param ${ColumnNames} -param "${Filter}" ${ProjName} ${JobName}

But i'm getting the same error.

@Vinoth: Yes, I've run a similar job having 1 parameter less.

@Craig: Actually I've run a similar job which has a parameter less but the length of the parameters was greater in that job when compared to this job.

@Ray: I'm not sure how to check out the maximum length of the command in my UNIX.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:16 am
by ArndW
If "getconf ARG_MAX" doesn't work, please tell us your shell and UNIX type.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:55 am
by chulett
So... no information on the actual parameter values you are passing? Length, content, nothing? :?

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:58 am
by chulett
ps. Anbu said (and meant) before dsjob, as in a separate line:

set -vx
dsjob -run

This should enable verbose debugging information, from what I recall. But again, that could depend on your UNIX and shell, something you haven't passed along.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:42 am
by vinnz
rohithmuthyala wrote: @Vinoth: Yes, I've run a similar job having 1 parameter less.

@Craig: Actually I've run a similar job which has a parameter less but the length of the parameters was greater in that job when compared to this job.
what is the new parameter value (please give the details that Craig has already asked for)? Are there any special characters/quotes etc in the value?