SELECT not in your VOC

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
suryapkakani
Participant
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:31 am
Location: New jersey

SELECT not in your VOC

Post by suryapkakani »

Hi,

I am trying to execute a query from the dssh folder, but it gives me the error below.

dsadm@XXXXX01:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin> ./dssh
DataStage Command Language 8.0 Licensed Materials - Property of IBM
(c) Copyright IBM Corp. 1997, 2006 All Rights Reserved.
bin logged on: Tue Feb 9 15:45:47 2010

>"select * from ds_jobs;"
Verb ""SELECT" is not in your VOC.

What might be the resoultion to this problem....
sunny
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Type the command in upper case.

Code: Select all

SELECT * FROM DS_JOBS;
The parser has actually reported it incorrectly; the problem is with the table name, which is case sensitive. Reserved words from SQL are not actually case sensitive. So the following would have worked.

Code: Select all

select * from DS_JOBS;
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
suryapkakani
Participant
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:31 am
Location: New jersey

Post by suryapkakani »

Hi Ray,

I tried the following as mentioned

dsadm@dldatas01:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin> ./dssh
DataStage Command Language 8.0 Licensed Materials - Property of IBM
(c) Copyright IBM Corp. 1997, 2006 All Rights Reserved.
bin logged on: Tue Feb 9 16:43:44 2010

>SELECT * FROM DS_JOBS;
DataStage/SQL: Table "DS_JOBS" does not exist.
>"SELECT * FROM DS_JOBS;"
Verb ""SELECT" is not in your VOC.
>

I still get the same error. Is anything wrong in the format in which I am writing the query.

One other thing is, I am able to execute the same from the Administrator.
sunny
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

That's because you are in an account that is not a project, therefore there is no DS_JOBS table.

LOGTO any project account and you will find that the query succeeds.

It works in Administrator because there you have already chosen (and invisibly connected to) a project.

Quoting the entire SQL makes no difference.

Major problem: at some point someone has created an account in your $DSHOME/bin directory. This should be unwound at an early opportunity. Delete the following items from bin:
  • &SAVEDLISTS& (directory) and contents
    VOC
    VOCLIB
    D_&SAVEDLISTS&
    D_VOC
    D_VOCLIB
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

When you launched your 'dssh' command, did it tell you something along the lines of it not being 'properly set up' and asking you if you want to set it up? If so, the answer is always no.

This means you are not launching the command from the proper location, which would be either the DSEngine directory or from one of your Projects. The latter will automatically LOGTO the project you start in.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply