Page 1 of 1

Get Running jobs list

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:39 am
by Ramani
How to get running jobs list for a project. Is there a direct way. Or should I list all the jobs name from the project and check the status of each job in loop.

What is the quickest way to get this list, considering the response time doing this in loop would take more time?

Basically, I am trying to find out whether the Datastage server is idle meaning, no jobs are running currently considering all the projects in that server...

Thanks

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:49 am
by chulett
Unless you need the precise status of every job, I wouldn't bother to loop thru them all. Sounds like a quick "ps -ef |grep phantom| grep -v grep" could get you what you need.

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:09 am
by nagarjuna
Checking in director manually , Using dsjob -jobstatus or ps -aef | grep phamtom | grep -v grep | wc -l .

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:32 pm
by ray.wurlod
Use Director status view, disable display of Category and sort by status (click in the grid row header to sort). You can print this report, or print to file.

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:00 pm
by Ramani
Director would be a manual process and switching projects manually would take time.

So I would prefer to use the ps unix command. But the question what I have for ps command is that, if the team has opened the jobs in designer, will this ps command bring those processes as well?

Thanks

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:40 am
by chulett
No, you'd have to search for something else to find things like that. Since 'phantom' is a background process for a running job, that's all you'll find.

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:05 am
by Ramani
Thanks chulett.

I was just wondering whether the jobs opened in designer would also come as part of the ps phantom. If this does not bring the designer process, then I am happy.

Because, I am trying to find only the jobs that are running. Thanks for the help, I will check this.

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 6:41 pm
by ray.wurlod
Ramani wrote:Director would be a manual process and switching projects manually would take time.

So I would prefer to use the ps unix command. But the question what I have for ps command is that, if the team has opened the jobs in designer, will this ps command bring those processes as well?

Thanks
These are new requirements. The original question merely asked for the quickest way. Wanna race?

Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:55 am
by zulfi123786
As per my understanding, only the server jobs run with the phantom process what i am not sure is will a grep on 'phantom' capture the running PX jobs?

Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:03 am
by chulett
Easy enough to check.

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:01 am
by priyadarshikunal
zulfi123786 wrote: will a grep on 'phantom' capture the running PX jobs?
Yes, It will capture the PX jobs as well.

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:58 am
by invincibleDeepak
I would just want to clarify on this that sometimes I have found phantom process on Unix server with parent process as root and job had completed long back. Sso, isn't it not displaying correct result.

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:57 am
by chulett
Different issue, and I would question the fact that the job truly 'finished' if there are still processes associated with it.