Page 1 of 1

Sequence Job Doesn't Abort

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:45 pm
by mikesherm
Here's probably a simple one for you gurus out there. :lol:

I've got a Sequence Job that runs several individual Jobs in Parallel. One of the individual Jobs aborts, but the Sequence Job still finishes with a Status of 1 (Finished-OK). This sends a false success status to the Master Sequence Job it is contained in.

How do I get the individual Sequence Job to abort if one of the individual Jobs aborts and/or fails.

Thanks.

Mike S.

Re: Sequence Job Doesn't Abort

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:41 pm
by veerabusani185512
Hi Mike,
In the job activity stage->Trigger tab...You can set the condtion by which next stage will be or not execute....
in our project we generally select Custom conditon option in drop down and include condition
JOB_NAME.$JobStatus= DSJS.RUNOK OR JOB_NAME.$JobStatus= DSJS.RUNWARN

which indicates when ur present job stage has been executed successfully or with warnings then only next stage will be triggered

U can also one more link after the job for which trigger condition shud be set to 'Failed conditonal' and then the link can be given to terminator stage...by doing this ...if the present job in the seq aborts seq will be aborted.


mikesherm wrote:Here's probably a simple one for you gurus out there. :lol:

I've got a Sequence Job that runs several individual Jobs in Parallel. One of the individual Jobs aborts, but the Sequence Job still finishes with a Status of 1 (Finished-OK). This sends a false success status to the Master Sequence Job it is contained in.

How do I get the individual Sequence Job to abort if one of the individual Jobs aborts and/or fails.

Thanks.

Mike S.

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:19 pm
by mikesherm
veerabusani,

I'm not sure I'm following this exactly. My Sequence Job runs several individuals Jobs in parallel. There are no output links for any of them so there are no trigger conditions. When all the jobs complete in the Sequence, all succeeed except on which finishes with an abort status. The overall status of the Sequence comes back as 1. Are you saying that I would need to add a Terminator stage after each individual job to have the Sequence return an Abort status?

Mike

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:43 pm
by veerabusani185512
Hi Mike,
If all jobs in the sequence are parallel,then add a output link for each the jobs in sequence and join all those link using sequencer and then ouput of the sequencer to a terminator stage.

In each of the job activity stage apply trigger condition select failed conditional

and in the sequencer stage select Mode as 'Any' indicating if any of the job aborts execute terminator stage

Veera
mikesherm wrote:veerabusani,

I'm not sure I'm following this exactly. My Sequence Job runs several individuals Jobs in parallel. There are no output links for any of them so there are no trigger conditions. When all the jobs complete in the Sequence, all succeeed except on which finishes with an abort status. The overall status of the Sequence comes back as 1. Are you saying that I would need to add a Terminator stage after each individual job to have the Sequence return an Abort status?

Mike

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:48 pm
by mikesherm
veerabusani185512,

Thanks. I was just thinking about that myself. I'll try it and let you know.

Mike

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:52 pm
by ray.wurlod
Log a warning for any activity that finishes with a status of other than OK. Detect this status in the controlling sequence.

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:04 pm
by chulett
You can specifically transfer control to a Terminator stage, but IMHO it's cleaner to only use 'OK' triggers and enable the compiler option to 'Automatically handle activities that fail'... it handles them by aborting the Sequence.

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:06 am
by mikesherm
Thanks to all who replied. I was successfully able to add a Terminator stage for all unsuccessful Jobs during a Job Sequence.

Mike

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:55 pm
by ray.wurlod
Did you caption it "Arnie"?
:lol: