Realtime data integration using replication server and DS

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

dhiraj
Participant

Realtime data integration using replication server and DS

Post by dhiraj »

Hi,
we are in need to build a real time data warehouse, there are reporting requirments that need real time data (near real time would not do). The source system is on DB2 on mainframe. The existing environment captures changes occuring to the source database in real time using replication server for z/OS and applies them to other downstream systems.

The data integration platform used at this location is Datastage EE 7.5.2 on UNIX.

I am new to Real time data integration and the Replication server product. was wondering what would my options be to integrate the data changes occuring in the source (DB2 on mainframe) in realtime to the data warehouse (DB2 on UNIX). We would want to leverage the existing Replication server infrastructure to the extent possible.

1) Is it possible to interface replication server on z/OS with Datastage on UNIX, such that replication server can detect changes and push the changes to the data stage jobs to perform transformation before loading it to the data warehouse in real time? If so how? what are our options/workarounds?

2) I have been reading that infoshphere change data capture can help capture real time data changes and can interface with data stage. Does change data capture work with Datastage EE 7.5.2? and can it be used to capture changes occuring in DB2 on z/OS? Are there any work arounds/options?

3) Do we have any other alternatives to perform this realtime data integration using datastage?

Thanks
Dhiraj
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

You can have "always running" DataStage jobs that receive the pushed data. Get onto the latest, "wave aware", version.