TO export job through unix

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

gssr
Participant
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:51 am
Location: India

TO export job through unix

Post by gssr »

Hi,
Do anyone have any idea of exporting and impoting jobs or awhole project through commands in Unix OS
DS server - AIX 5.4

Thanks in advance,
RAJ
srinivas.g
Participant
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:52 am

Post by srinivas.g »

dsimport,dsexport (job level)
Srinu Gadipudi
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What 7.x version?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Akumar1
Participant
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 3:38 am
Location: bangalore
Contact:

Post by Akumar1 »

dsimport.exe /H=<hostname> /U=<user> /P=<password> <project> <path>\job.dsx



dsexport.exe /H=<hostname> /U=<user> /P=<password> /JOB=<job> <project> <path>\job.dsx
Akumar
gssr
Participant
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:51 am
Location: India

Post by gssr »

chulett wrote:What 7.x version? ...
Yes, V7.5.2 Px

Akumar,
I want to export a specific catagory folder that contains a set of 25 jobs. Can i do it with single command or else i have to export every job with a seperate command ?

Thanks in advance
RAJ
srinivas.g
Participant
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:52 am

Post by srinivas.g »

for catageory wise export through unix is not possible.
U need export job by job.
Srinu Gadipudi
gssr
Participant
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:51 am
Location: India

Post by gssr »

Akumar1 wrote:dsimport.exe /H=<hostname> /U=<user> /P=<password> <project> <path>\job.dsx



dsexport.exe /H=<hostname> /U=<user> /P=<password> /JOB=<job> <project> <path>\job.dsx

Do i have to execute this command in home directory?
I logged into the unixbox AIX through the user/password of that project,

Can anyone help me in this, i was new to UNIX..!!
RAJ
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Technically, you can issue the command from anywhere but probably easiest from $DSHOME/bin for you. And make sure you put a "./" in front of the command.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Akumar1
Participant
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 3:38 am
Location: bangalore
Contact:

Post by Akumar1 »

srinivas.g wrote:for catageory wise export through unix is not possible.
U need export job by job.
Not sure , but I think it's possible, there are some optional [option] to export category wise.

DS experts can you please add input to it?

Regards,
Akumar
Akumar
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

The only category option is via the GUI, not the command line.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
gssr
Participant
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:51 am
Location: India

Post by gssr »

Thankyou all for your thoughts,

I tried to execute the below code

Code: Select all

/dsexport.exe /H=dstest /U=tuser /P=dstest /JOB=Testjob1 ETL_TEST /home/tuser/job.dsx

where  dstest is the server
              tuser - > user name
              dstest - > Password
              Testjob1 - > name of the job to be exported
              ETL_TEST - > Project in which the job resides
              /home/tuser/job.dsx - > The path where the dsx file is to be stored.
but it throws me some error that /dsexport.exe does not exists

Did i miss anything?
Correct me if i was wrong..


Thanks all
RAJ
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

/dsexport.exe almost certainly does not exist. You are telling UNIX to look for a file called dsexport.exe in the root file system, and it's almost certainly not located there!

I suspect what you meant to type is ./dsexport.exe but, even then, I am concerned about the ".exe" suffix. This is really unusual for a UNIX executable.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
gssr
Participant
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:51 am
Location: India

Post by gssr »

Sorry Ray,
i am not able to read your full content,
Do i need to check the root directory?

Actually ,i executed the command in the home dir,

Code: Select all

tuser@dstest:/home/tuser>/dsexport.exe /H=dstest /U=tuser /P=dstest /JOB=Testjob1 ETL_TEST /home/tuser/job.dsx 
Thanks,
RAJ
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Do you understand what that first slash means? I suspect not.

cd to $DSHOME/bin and then issue your ./dsexport from there. There are no .exe files on UNIX so do not include that.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

gssr wrote: i am not able to read your full content
By now, with well over 100 posts to your name, you should at least have some inkling of the benefits of premium membership. It's not that expensive - less than 30c (Rs12) per day.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply