Transformer compilation Error-DS7.5x.2

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Transformer compilation Error-DS7.5x.2

Post by dspradeep »

Hi,

I have freshly installed DS EE on Win XP machine. The machine has Visual Studio 2005 and Platform SDK installed on it. While compiling jobs which have transformer I am getting the following error. I have serached through all the topics related to this error and tried all the solutions. No luck !

Output from transformer compilation follows:

##I TFCN 000001 20:36:26(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(001) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(002) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(003) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##W TFPA 000012 20:36:27(000) <main_program> Warning: the PWD environment variable is not defined. Remote process startup may be unsuccessful as a result.If your ORCHESTRATE job does not start up correctly, please set your PWD variable to a value that will work on all nodes of your system.
##E TFCP 000209 20:36:28(000) <transform> Unrecognized argument: -W/EHa
##E TCOS 000029 20:36:28(001) <main_program> Creation of step finished with status = FAILED (Test1.Transformer_2)

*** Internal Generated Transformer Code follows:
0001: //
0002: // Generated file to implement the V0S2_repos_Transformer_2 transform operator.
0003: //
0004:
0005: // define our input/output link names
0006: inputname 0 DSLink3;
0007: outputname 0 DSLink4;
0008:
0009: initialize {
0010: // define our row rejected variable
0011: int8 RowRejected0;
0012:
0013: // define our null set variable
0014: int8 NullSetVar0;
0015:
0016: }
0017:
0018: mainloop {
0019: // initialise our row rejected variable
0020: RowRejected0 = 1;
0021:
0022: // evaluate columns (no constraints) for link: DSLink4
0023: writerecord 0;
0024: RowRejected0 = 0;
0025: }
0026:
0027: finish {
0028: }
0029:
*** End of Internal Generated Transformer Code

And also the compiler and linker options in DS Administrator are as below.



APT_COMPILEOPT : -W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c
APT_COMILER : C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit\etc\
APT_LINKER : C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit\etc\
APT_LINKOPT : -W/TP -W/dll -W/base:0x50000000


I hope I have all the prerequisites installed correctely on the Machine.
Could someone show some light on this.


i have searched in this forum but i couldn't get the solution for the same,
one place i have seen like we need to set environment variable for Visual C++ 2003 Toolkit and Platform SDK for XP. but i don't how to set this.

please provide this info.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

One more info also

LIBPATH
PATH
TMPDIR

these three environment variables are blank in my
admin--> ev--> general tab

whether i need to mention any path here? if yes pls tell the steps for resolve this
lstsaur
Participant
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:59 pm

Post by lstsaur »

The values for the APT_COMILER and the APT_LINKER should be c++.
Did you install the VS 2003 C++ compiler?
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

Actually i defualt it came in the

APT_COMILER : cxx
APT_LINKER : cxx
for this after that i got the compiler error then i have changed into MKStool kit path.

ok i need to give compiler path right

that means

APT_COMILER :c:\programfile\vs2003\vc\bin

APT_LINKER :c:\programfile\vs2003\vc\lib


is it right?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

No. These two environment variables must refer to the actual executables. Most rely on PATH being set properly so that only the name of the compiler/linker is required.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

can u give some example how to set and wt i need to set in PATH and other two environment variable also so that i can understood how to set based on my folder stucture.

please help me out
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Did you install VS 2003 or 2005? From what people have posted here, only 2003 works with your version I do believe.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

dspradeep wrote:can u give some example how to set and wt i need to set in PATH and other two environment variable also so that i can understood how to set based on my folder stucture.

please help me out
Not "u", but "you". U is one of our posters.

Not "wt", but "what".

Ordinarily "I" is capitalized.

I hope that this advice is helpful. We strive for a professional standard of written English on DSXchange, to help those whose first language is not English, and because we tend to represent ourselves as professionals.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

still i am facing this issue.

let me explain step by step so that any one can tell the exact solution...

1. installed VS2003
2. set the Environment variable as
PATH : C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\lib";"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\bin";"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\include
3. installed datastage server which is available in c:\ascential\...
4. MKSToolkit installed by default c:\programfiles\mkstoolkit while instal datastage server
5. installed client and given the PATH info and TEMP info in Administrator -->EnvVar

PATH:
:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\lib";"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\bin";"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\include
But i am getting this error

Code: Select all

:Output from transformer compilation follows:

##I TFCN 000001 22:20:25(000) <main_program> 
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TOSH 000002 22:20:25(001) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 22:20:25(002) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 22:20:25(003) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##W TFPA 000012 22:20:25(006) <main_program> Warning: the PWD environment variable is not defined. Remote process startup may be unsuccessful as a result.If your ORCHESTRATE job does not start up correctly, please set your PWD variable to a value that will work on all nodes of your system.
##E TBLD 000000 22:20:26(000) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Subprocess command failed with exit status 256
##E TFSR 000019 22:20:26(001) <main_program> Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
##W TFCP 000000 22:20:26(002) <transform> Error when checking composite operator:  The number of reject datasets "0"is less than the number of input datasets "1".
##W TBLD 000000 22:20:26(003) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: cxx: file 'C:/PROGRA~1/MKSTOO~1/etc/cxx.ccg': The system cannot find the file specified. 

##I TFCP 000008 22:20:26(004) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: cxx  -O   -IC:/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/include -W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c C:/Ascential/DataStage/Projects/ds_poc/RT_BP2.O/V0S3_testds2_Transformer_3.C -o C:/Ascential/DataStage/Projects/ds_poc/RT_BP2.O/V0S3_testds2_Transformer_3.tmp.o
##E TCOS 000029 22:20:26(005) <main_program> Creation of step finished with status = FAILED (testds2.Transformer_3)

*** Internal Generated Transformer Code follows:
0001: //
0002: // Generated file to implement the V0S3_repos_Transformer_3 transform operator.
0003: //
0004: 
0005: // define our input/output link names
0006: inputname 0 DSLink2;
0007: outputname 0 DSLink5;
0008: 
0009: initialize {
0010: 	// define our row rejected variable
0011: 	int8 RowRejected0;
0012: 
0013: 	// define our null set variable
0014: 	int8 NullSetVar0;
0015: 
0016: }
0017: 
0018: mainloop {
0019: 	// initialise our row rejected variable
0020: 	RowRejected0 = 1;
0021: 
0022: 	// evaluate columns (no constraints) for link: DSLink5
0023: 	writerecord 0;
0024: 	RowRejected0 = 0;
0025: }
0026: 
0027: finish {
0028: }
0029: 
*** End of Internal Generated Transformer Code
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

I am suspecting my PATH,TEMP which i gave in the administrator--> EnvVar.. so any one guide me what i need to give here. Also in my compiler place

Compiler --> cxx
Linker--> cxx
is it right? how do i make sure whether it is right or wrong ? i think i can able to check in command prompt whether it's correct or not but that also i don't know so can any one tell me how to check this.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

actually currently i understood the issue where i am facing

when i try "cxx" in command prompt it's giving this error

Code: Select all

NuTCRACKER not properly installed.  The pathname:
    C:/PROGRA~1/MKSTOO~1/include
is missing from the 'INCLUDE' environment variable.
can any one help me what exactly i need to do for this.

pls help me .................
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I would suggest an exact search for "APT_LINKER" and then check any resolved posts that mention both Windows and Parallel.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

I have searched previously as you mentioned and gone through most of the topic. There are some people faced same probs but we don't know whether they rectified or not.

current update is:
I have added

Code: Select all

C:/PROGRA~1/MKSTOO~1/include
this into

Code: Select all

INCLUDE 
envvar.. and trying to execute

Code: Select all

 cxx 
command it saying that

Code: Select all

Compiler "cl" not found.
.

one suggestion i need .. some place i red like we need to "install
Engine and MKSToolKit in same folder". I am understood what they are exactly trying to say here.

My server details installed in :C:\Ascential\DataStage\Engine
My MKSToolKit installed in:C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

sorry I couldn't understand what they are exactly trying to say here.

I have installed both in below path:
My server details installed in :C:\Ascential\DataStage\Engine
My MKSToolKit installed in:C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit

is it necessary to install both in same folder if "yes" then please suggest which folder i need to install MKSToolKit so that i will uninstall and reinstall my MKSToolKit.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

I didn't get any solution for the same....

Please any one guide me to resolve this issue.
Post Reply