Page 1 of 1

Run Shell script through DS job

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:08 am
by atulgoel
Hi,

How to run the Shell script through DS job?

Thanks Atul

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:17 am
by miwinter
Call it in a before or after job routine.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:29 am
by atulgoel
Thanks Marks..

Can I call the ExecSH routine in the job.? My requirement is to execute the script on the output file of the job.

Please help to how can i do it?

Thanks
Atul

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:31 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
Then it can be an 'After job'.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:36 am
by miwinter
Yes, employ ExecSH in an after-job routine.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:04 am
by atulgoel
Thanks..

I am first time using this. Can You please guide me how can I call this in my job?

Thanks
Atul

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:11 am
by miwinter
Please refer to the documentation - it's in the Designer guide.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:33 am
by chulett
Those options are part of the job Properties page, you'll see an entry for both 'before' and 'after' job actions there. Change the after property to ExecSH and then put the full path to the script in the box next to it.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:33 am
by RAJARP
Hi atul,
One more approach is that, you can do that in a job sequence also.

Parallel job ---->Execute command activity

Inside Execute command activity , by giving proper command and parameters ,you can execute the script on your output file

Regards,
Raja R p

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:12 am
by arnabdey
Hi

Go to properties tab, you will find two options as before job and after job subroutine. Use ExecSh or ExecShSilent as per your requirements (the second one is appropriate if you are using userid/passwords as parameters to the script). If you want to execute it before your job starts use the before job routine or if it is to be executed at the end use after job routine). Remember you should provide the absolute path of the script to be on safer side, followed by its parameters.