Page 1 of 1

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:16 am
by ArndW
What sort of a "routine" are you talking about here? Is it a DataStage server routine, or perhaps a c++ program linked in as a plugin?

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:22 am
by lindatgeorge
It is a server routine...

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:49 am
by ArndW
From a server routine it is preferable to use the builtin API calls, in your case it would be:
  • DSAttachJob()
    DSSetParam()
    DSRunJob()
    DSDetachJob()
To see how the calls work, create a new Server job. Go into the Job Control tab and, at the top, select the sequence you wish to call and click "Add Job". This will add standard job control to the window and you can cut-and-paste it (after editing) to your routine.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:36 am
by chulett
Being new, why do you think you 'need' to do this from a routine? It's not the most straight-forward approach you could take.

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:43 am
by lindatgeorge
This is one of the requirements that, we have to use routine to call the job. I have used dssetparam and configured the parameters.

Thanks for all your help..


Linda

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:07 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
How do you intend to invoke the routine in the first place ?

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:06 pm
by ray.wurlod
lindatgeorge wrote:This is one of the requirements that, we have to use routine to call the job. I have used dssetparam and configured the parameters.
<rant>Resist stupid requirements!</rant>