Routine

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
amkh80
Participant
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:08 pm

Routine

Post by amkh80 »

I have below routine which suppose to take the job name and move the job to the target location (category) provided by me. It seems the routine is not working fine. Could anyone assist me on this.

(Job name and target catagory is provided by user in routine)

JobName = ''
JobCategory = ''
JobName<-1> = 'Sample job'; JobCategory<-1> = 'Targetcategory'


OPEN '','DS_JOBS' TO DSJobsFilePtr ELSE STOP 'Bad open on DS_JOBS'
JobCount = DCOUNT(JobName,@FM)
FOR Index = 1 TO JobCount
CurrentJobName = JobName<Index>
READ JobRecord FROM DSJobsFilePtr, CurrentJobName
THEN
PRINT "Converting Job "':CurrentJobName:'" from Category ":JobRecord<3>:'" to "':JobCategory<Index>:'"'
JobRecord<3> = JobCategory<Index>
WRITE JobRecord ON DSJobsFilePtr, CurrentJobName
END
ELSE
PRINT 'job "':CurrentJobName:'" Not exist.'
END
NEXT Index
CLOSE DSJobsFilePtr
Ans = ''
Best Regards,

A K
Pierre
Participant
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 7:16 am
Location: Paris

Post by Pierre »

Hi,

I've just test it, and for me it works fine, I don't see where's your problem.
Did you refresh the repository ?

Pierre.
amkh80
Participant
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:08 pm

Routine

Post by amkh80 »

Hi,

Just to confirm, is it working fine in V8?

Pierre wrote:Hi,

I've just test it, and for me it works fine, I don't see where's your problem.
Did you refresh the repository ?

Pierre.
Best Regards,

A K
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No, it won't as the "Universe" repository is no longer the sole repository for information like this in the 8.x release. Many of your old 7.x ways, especially "under the covers" stuff like this, are no longer valid.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

As noted elsewhere recently, the local repository is not used for table definitions at all. They are always in the unified respository in version 8.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
subrat
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 5:54 am
Location: UK

Post by subrat »

So is there any other way, this requirement can achieve in DS V8
ray.wurlod wrote:As noted elsewhere recently, the local repository is not used for table definitions at all. They are always in the unified respository in version 8. ...
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You can use drag and drop in the Designer client.

I am not aware of any version 8 programmatic method for changing the repository folder in which a component resides.

I suppose that you could enable server side tracing then open Designer and perform the drag and drop, investigate the subroutine calls made, and try to emulate them. But who wants to be an emu?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
subrat
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 5:54 am
Location: UK

Post by subrat »

Ray:- Drag and drop is ok till the number of component to move is less. If its a huge number then i think it would be a tidious task.
Any other suggestion.
ray.wurlod wrote:You can use drag and drop in the Designer client.

I am not aware of any version 8 programmatic method for changing the repository folder in which a component resides.

I suppose that you could en ...
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Yes, you could buy a premium membership and read the remainder of my reply.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply