how to check for the presence of extended characters

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
zulfi123786
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Bangalore

how to check for the presence of extended characters

Post by zulfi123786 »

hi,

i need to for the presence of extended characters in a field, how can i probably do that?
please help
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What do YOU mean by "extended"?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
zulfi123786
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by zulfi123786 »

ray.wurlod wrote:What do YOU mean by "extended"? ...
extended ascii characters having ascii codes >= 128(dec)
mk_ds09
Participant
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: Pune

Post by mk_ds09 »

You need to take each charater of your string and then convert it to in ascii and check the values of it.

You can get the logic in one of the post how to break the string into the characters and converting it into the ascii...
-----------------------------------
Regards
MK

What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

-----------------------------------
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Since you already know that the Seq() function returns the ASCII code associated with any character, the answer should be obvious. You need to create a routine that checks each character individually.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply