Page 1 of 2

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:31 am
by raju_chvr
Hello,

Is it possible to execute 2 Parallel DataStage jobs parallel within the same JOB Sequence ?

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:34 am
by chulett
Yes, simply don't link them together.

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:17 am
by raju_chvr
Well My bad. I should have mentioned this before.

I need these 2 jobs(Lets say: Job2, Job3) which have to run parallel after JOBA runs successfully.

I hope I am clear this time. So can this happen ?

chulett wrote:Yes, simply don't link them together. ...

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:20 am
by chulett
Sure, run OK triggers from JOBA to both Job2 and Job3. They will both start after JOBA completes successfully.

Re: How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:40 pm
by kittu.raja
[quote="raju_chvr"]Well My bad. I should have mentioned this before.


Otherwise simply use a sequencer. JOBA linked to sequencer and sequencer to job2 and job3.

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCE

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:41 pm
by raju_chvr
I have tried what you have mentioned. Job2 and Job3 are starting automatically after JOBA is finished. But they are not running in parallel, Job2 is finished and then Job3 is starting.

I am saying the above from observing Job Director Log. Any thoughts ??

chulett wrote:Sure, run OK triggers from JOBA to both Job2 and Job3. They will both start after JOBA completes successfully. ...

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:46 pm
by chulett
:? And your job design looks like this?

Code: Select all

    /------> Job2
JOBA 
    \------> Job3
No dependancies between Job2 and Job3 other than the links back to JOBA? They should both start at approximately the same time.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:48 pm
by ray.wurlod
Don't link them together. There ought to be no link from Job2 to Job3.

Code: Select all

         ------> Job2
   JobA 
         ------> Job3     

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:16 pm
by raju_chvr
Ray/Chulett,

Job2 and Job3 are absolutely independent. JOB4 is designed to run after Job2 and Job3 are successfully completed.

Isn't the Sequencer creates one session and fork child processes from that, can it fork simultaneous parallel child processes ?

ray.wurlod wrote:Don't link them together. There ought to be no link from Job2 to Job3.

Code: Select all

         ------> Job2
   JobA 
         ------> Job3     
...

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:22 pm
by chulett
Yes, it should work just fine as noted. Can you post the start and end times from all three jobs? Don't expect the two jobs to start at the exact same time, it should start the first and then once started, it should start the second one. If the first job completes quickly, then it can appear as if the second is waiting, but it isn't.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:37 pm
by raju_chvr
2/3/2009 1:32:51 PM: JOBA:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (DeleteDataset Routine): Dataset .. is deleted

2/3/2009 1:32:51 PM: Job2:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/3/2009 1:33:00 PM: Job3:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/3/2009 1:33:26 PM:Job4:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_MO_SLS_WORK.dat is valid

I hope this helps my case ...

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:55 pm
by Mike
Job2 and Job3 started 9 seconds apart. That's close enough for me for a simultaneous start. Remember DataStage only adds a run request to the operating system queue. The OS schedules processes to run based on resource availability. A 9 second difference for jobs that may run minutes or hours...

Mike

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:21 pm
by ray.wurlod
JobA and Job2 started within the same second. Please post your actual job sequence design. Also please post the logged startup and execution times of all five jobs (including the job sequence).

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:15 pm
by raju_chvr
We increased the number of records to some 100000+ and following are the observations:

JOBA is still not kicking of Job2 and Job3 at the same time. any thoughts ??


2/4/2009 12:05:57 PM: JOBA:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (DeleteDataset Routine): Dataset .. is deleted

2/4/2009 12:05:57 PM Job2:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/4/2009 12:06:45 PM: Job3:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_MO_SLS_WORK.dat is valid

2/4/2009 12:07:03 PM: Job4:
DGLMA_N_SEQ4..JobControl (@Seq11): Starting GLMA Sequencer Step 6

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:27 pm
by chulett
Recall that we said that they would not "start at the same time" but rather one would start, then the second would start and they would run in parallel after that.