Page 1 of 1

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:35 am
by fareeda_b
Hi Vijay,

in db2 we have to use substr function

Example:select substr(empid,2,len(empid)) from schemaname.tablename;

try this one

hope it will help you.

if iam wrong correct me

thanks
fareeda

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:36 am
by ArndW
The substr() function in DB2 only helps if you know the actual location of the characters to replace.

In DS you can use the convert() function to convert certain characters to others (or to empty); but this list might be a long one unless you only have a limited number of special characters.

Do you just have those characters to be replaced, or do you wish to replace everything outside of the standard latin displayable character set?

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:50 am
by ArndW
What tool are you using to see this extra character? In the sequential file output stage, what have you set in the format for line, field and record terminators?