Page 1 of 1

Importing of jobs through command prompt

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:56 am
by Kbhujad
Hi,

We have a requirement to import DS jobs from command prompt of the local machine to DS server.Is this possible in 8.0?

We used to import jobs in DS 7.5 through command prompt using a bat file.But this required manual intervention(After every job import, there was a popup window confirming the same and we had to click Ok then the file used to continue)
The command in the bat file was like
XML2DSX.exe /H=206.236.140.165 /U=dsadm /P=dhl123 /N CMPN_DSUPD \\D:\Jobs\COMET401040SuspNumChk.xml

If anyone has worked on a similar requirement, please guide me.

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:51 am
by bcarlson
In 7.5 and supposedly in v8 there is a command called dscmdimport.exe that imports standard DSX files. We use this for our code migration - the DSX file is in version control. The CM tool pulls the version out and NDM's it to a NT server with DS 7.5 installed, and uses an NDM runtask to kick off the dscmdimport command and also the multi-job compile (I think that is dscc.exe, but am not sure). We don't get any pop-up windows.

We are in the process of migrating to v8, so we have not fully tested this process, but have been told that it should work fine.

Brad.

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:24 am
by chulett
Stop exporting in XML format, stick with 'dsx'.

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:57 am
by Kbhujad
I tried using the below command:

'dscmdimport /D ux17 /U dsuser /P welcome1 /H ux17 /NUA ux17\mts_datastage C:\Documents and Settings\kshitijaJambhulkar\My Documents\DSJobs\Test\FIMSJBPII211.dsx'

But this is gives an error that 'Aborting.Failed to attach to project'
While opening my project,I give it as 'ux17/mts_datastage' i.e. Server Name/Project Name.Is it necessary to give it in quotes.

Also earlier I was exporting jobs as xmls, but now I am exporting them as dsx.

Regards,
Kshitija J.

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:58 am
by Kbhujad
I tried using the below command:

'dscmdimport /D ux17 /U dsuser /P welcome1 /H ux17 /NUA ux17\mts_datastage C:\Documents and Settings\kshitijaJambhulkar\My Documents\DSJobs\Test\FIMSJBPII211.dsx'

But this is gives an error that 'Aborting.Failed to attach to project'
While opening my project,I give it as 'ux17/mts_datastage' i.e. Server Name/Project Name.Is it necessary to give it in quotes.

Also earlier I was exporting jobs as xmls, but now I am exporting them as dsx.

Regards,
Kshitija J.

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:28 am
by chulett
/H is the Host aka Server name so do not include that again with the Project name.

Code: Select all

dscmdimport /D ux17 /U dsuser /P welcome1 /H ux17 /NUA mts_datastage C:\Documents and Settings\kshitijaJambhulkar\My Documents\DSJobs\Test\FIMSJBPII211.dsx
No clue what /D is, perhaps it's new with 8.x. :?