How to identify a Job Server y Parallel

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
jseclen
Participant
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 4:19 pm
Location: Lima - Peru. Sudamerica
Contact:

How to identify a Job Server y Parallel

Post by jseclen »

Hi Forum, :)

I'm using the DSGetJobInfo Function to obtain information from jobs, but this function dont return the job type (server or parallel), this attribute is important for my process because i need analize the job server and parallel for separate. :shock:

I expect for your answer. :!:
Saludos,

Miguel Seclén
Lima - Peru
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

There is a column called JOBTYPE (or JOBTYPEIND) in the DS_JOBS table.

Code: Select all

SELECT JOBTYPEIND FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = '<<Job name>>';
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Search the forums for JOBTYPEIND to get a list of 'valid values'.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
jseclen
Participant
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 4:19 pm
Location: Lima - Peru. Sudamerica
Contact:

Post by jseclen »

Thanks Ray,

I need make a routine to obtain this atribute or there is a function to make this select???

:shock:
Saludos,

Miguel Seclén
Lima - Peru
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You could run the query using DSExecute with the ShellType set to 'UV'. And that from inside your existing routine that is calling DSGetJobInfo, I would assume.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Or you can use SQLExecDirect() with @HSTMT as the statement handle.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

Post by abc123 »

Ray, I did the SELECT on one of my jobs and I get:

Reserved
3

What does that mean? Which document should I look up these values/commands in?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What does what mean, the '3'? Did you search the forums for JOBTYPEIND, that will turn up the list of values.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What query did you use? I suspect you got it right - you can override the column heading ("Reserved" is the default column heading). And, yes, job type is enumerated: from memory they decode as 0 = server job, 1 = mainframe job, 2 = job sequence and 3 = parallel job.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply