NLS problem to Oracle DB

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

jasper
Participant

NLS problem to Oracle DB

Post by jasper »

Hello,

We've just setup Datastage 8 with NLS enabled. Previously we were working on 7.5 without NLS. So I have no NLS experience

Our Oracle DB is set to american_america.al32utf8 , while the client connection is configured as NLS_LANG=AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8MSWIN1252. (this is something that's working for a lot of other applications allready and something we can't change.)

Importing table structures into Datastage is no problem. When I set the NLS in datastage to windows-1252 I get no error and no records when viewing data.(there are records in the table) When I set to any other I get an error like:
The NLS character map <UTF-8> specified may not be compatible with
the character set specified by NLS_LANG;
you may get unexpected results from your database.

And also no records.

When I run the job with NLS as windows-1252 I get an info in the log:
'20952 Bus Error - core dumped'
(number changes every time) after which the job aborts.

I have no clue anymore, anyone with more experience?
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Please Search the forum for how to deal with NLS_LANG which is actually nothing at all to do with DataStage; it is an environment variable used by Oracle. Nonetheless it has to be set (correctly) for DataStage to interact successfully with Oracle.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
jasper
Participant

Post by jasper »

I don't have access to the premium content right now (request is in the internal pipeline...) so I can only see your first line.