Page 1 of 1

XML Phantom

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:28 pm
by jim.paradies
I've got a Server job which is fairly simple.

FOLDER----------->XML---------->ODBC

The job produces the following warning:

DataStage Job 1839 Phantom 10528
XSLT Warning: Source tree node: SoftwareResourceLocator. (, line 168, column 64.)

Now when I run it with tracing on, the warnings disappear.

I'd appreciate any help on resolving this or even if someone can tell me how to view the XSLT generated. I'm not certain but I thought that in DS Server Version 6, I could see the generated XSLT in the log when tracing was turned on.

Thanks

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:16 pm
by lstsaur
For version 8.0.1, you must apply the patch in oder for select "Tracing" tab to work.

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:56 pm
by jim.paradies
In case anyone's interested.

If you ever have to use the XML stage, make sure that you use the text() function when defining a path to an element otherwise DataStage spits the dummy and you end up with a Phantom.

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:07 pm
by chulett
Thanks for the information.

Oh, and in case anyone's interested, had to look that one up. :wink:

Spit the dummy.

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:14 pm
by eostic
Hi Jim...

Thanks for the info.... for additional detail, can you define what was there instead of the text() bits?

Was it something like /element1/element2 ?
or /element1/element2/ ?

The second example above is somethng that is critical for many/most techniques, and something I use all the time. It would be interesting to know if that's what causes your phantom. Of course, as noted in the thread, there is a patch to XMLPack, although the phantom result was not one of the smptoms defining the patch I'm thinking about.

I recall in 7.x the phantom used to appear regularly with XMLPack in general when used on Solaris, although I see you are using Windows.

Ernie

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:19 pm
by jim.paradies
If you were using straight XSLT, you could define the value of an element like this

Code: Select all

/node1/node2
but with DataStage, you have to explicitly use the text() function thus:

Code: Select all

/node1/node2/text()

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:04 pm
by lstsaur
So, you didn't need to apply the patch for XML stage at all. Just wondering were you able to accessing the generated XSLT style sheet from the job's log.

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:06 pm
by jim.paradies
lstsaur,

Thanks for your reply before.

In answer to your question, no I haven't applied any patches. I will be looking at doing that though. It would be very handy to be able to see the generated stylesheet.


Thanks again.


By the way, is there a specific patch that I need to be asking for?