Multiple tables Lookup Issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

jsyed
Participant

Multiple tables Lookup Issue

Post by jsyed »

Hi there,

I've a job which is linking 1 source table with 30 reference tables with lookup stage. But the job is not reading from the source and 4 reference tables. I checked in the job monitor and it's showing source+4 unread reference tables in ready status and rest in running status. My reference tables are very small and have maximum of 5000 rows and the source table has 13 million records.

Any clue why this is behaving like this. I checked the memory with df cmd and it's showing plenty of free memory in the unix box. I don't know whether this is a design issue or memory allocation issue.

I don't find any other way of joining multiple tables in parallel job. I'm new to data stage will highly appreciate if somebody let me know if my design is wrong and the other ways of joining multiple tables.

Thanks in advance

-JS
bkumar103
Participant

Post by bkumar103 »

How are you doing the lookup. all the 20 ref table are used in one lookup stage, if yes then try to break the single lookup stage to multiple.
Birendra
jsyed
Participant

Post by jsyed »

Hi Birendra,

I tried splitting the tables with two lookups but still facing the same problem. I checked the job monitor after adding two lookups and found that the reference tables from both lookups are loading at the same time. I think this is the issue as if it's load the reference tables from first lookup and then goes to the second one then I believe it should work. But as it's loading reference tables of both lookups together so it's working exactly the same like having one lookup.

It's something related with memory allocation ? Generally how much memory is required to run job with multiple lookups.

Thanks
Javed